CapeCodHistory.us home page,
posted July 2006
note: Pictures to be added later
The town chapters are organized with history, industry, schools, churches and villages first, followed by a biographical sketch section, which is presented split from the rest. The complete Falmouth chapter, No. XX, includes pages 632-706
History of Barnstable County, Massachusetts
edited by Simeon L. Deyo.
1890. New York: H. W. Blake & Co
TOWN OF FALMOUTH.
Description. —Indians. —Settlement. —Incorporation. —Growth and Progress. —The Revolution. —Early Industries. —War of 1812. —Civil War. —Subsequent Events and Present Condition. —Civil Lists. —Churches. —Schools. —Cemeteries. —Villages (Falmouth, West Falmouth, Woods Holl, Waquoit, Hatchville, North Falmouth, Quisset, East Falmouth & Teticket.
—Biographical Sketches [in a separate file].
THAT portion of Barnstable county occupying the extreme southwestern portion of Cape Cod, now the town of Falmouth, was a part of that unexplored country which the English charter of April 10, 1606, presumed to confer upon the Plymouth Company, and which was superseded by the charter of 1620, by which James I. created the Council of Plymouth. It is bounded north and northeast by the towns of Bourne and Sandwich, the northwest corner being at Cataumet harbor, east by Mashpee, south by the Vineyard sound, west by Buzzards bay, and contains about 28,500 acres of assessed land. A range of hills, partly covered with oak forest, extends, parallel with the bay, through its western border, and the remainder is quite level. The soil is gravelly loam except in the eastern part, which is sandy and light. Its extreme width of coast along the sound is 9 3/4 miles, and its width from Falmouth wharf to the northeast corner at Ashumet pond is eight miles. It contains over forty ponds that bear names according to the circumstances of position, peculiarity, or original owner, and not a few are salt.
Some writers assert that there was no Indian tribe here when the European first landed; but in the fields along the bay from Woods Holl to North Falmouth have been found their bones and implements, and the reader will be regaled with the frequent use of Indian names that applied to different villages in the town, as given by them and used by the proprietors.
Ecclesiastical differences providentially turned the tide of emigration from Sandwich and Barnstable toward Falmouth, then called by the Indian name Succonesset. Isaac Robinson, dismissed from civil employment because of his sympathy with the Sandwich Quakers, was stricken from the list of freemen. Others, prominent in the colony, and since on the Cape, were proscribed. What could remedy this state of feeling better than to remove as far as possible into
the wilderness, away from immediate jurisdiction? June 7, 1659, permission was granted to five persons of Barnstable to purchase of the Indians, lands here, but was not carried into effect. Permission was given to others March 5, 1660, but not until June 4, 1661, under another permission from the court, did these earnest settlers prepare to set out in quest of other homes. They, according to tradition, came by water around the Cape, up the sound. The Barnstable church records show that Isaac Robinson received a letter of recommendation to the church at Marthas vineyard; which would indicate that as their place of destination; but they landed on the Cape, and, attracted by its beauty and fertility and having permission from the court at Plymouth, here they remained, becoming the first white settlers of Falmouth.
The proprietors' records of the town are sufficient evidence of the fact that the following persons were located on the lands now occupied by the village and its immediate vicinity, and the first entry of the records, November 29, 1661, gives to each the lots described. Isaac Robinson, the first to build a house between Fresh and Salt ponds, was given four acres by his house, eight acres, and one and a-half of meadow elsewhere; Jonathan Hatch had ten acres "by his house lying against the neck and leaving a sufficient way into the neck;" John Chapman, four acres; John Jenkins, eight acres; Jesse Hamlin, eight acres; Anthony Annabel, eight acres; William Nelson, four acres; Samuel Hinckley, eight acres; Captain Nathaniel Thomas, eight acres; Samuel Fuller, eight acres; Thomas Lathrop, eight acres; Peter Blossom, eight acres; James Cobb, eight acres; and Thomas Ewer, eight acres. They laid out four acres along by the pond into lots, which were assigned to the same individuals, then added " there is also a sufficient way to be left along by the pond side about or below the houses." They laid out twenty acres to be also shared, which was next to Hatch's land, "lying on the sea and running 200 rods towards the woods." Thus the reader may comprehend who were the first settlers of the town, where they located, and the amount of land first tilled. Considerable importance- must have been attached to this primitive settlement, for the court in March, 1663, enacted that the lands, even those not inhabited by them, be rated and liable in some measure for the support of a man for the dispensing of God's word among them; but "Suconesset not being yet strong enough to stand alone, ordered by the court that it shall for the present belong to Barnstable." These original proprietors secured a tract that extended from Woods Holl, along the sound to Five-Mile river and extending north four or five miles; for divisions were made by the proprietors to themselves and other settlers in succeeding years—in 1668 to William Gifford, Thomas Lewis and John Jenkins; in 1678
to William Gifford, jr., and John and William Weeks; in 1679 to James Percival, Moses Ronley, sr., Joseph Hull, Thomas Griffin, John Robinson, Samuel Tilley, Nathaniel Skiff and Thomas Johnson; and these included lands between Hog Island Harbor on the bay and Five-Mile river on the east; bounded by the sound on the south.. The line between Sandwich and Succonesset was defined in 1679, as "Beginning at a place commonly called Hope's Spring a little to the southward of Pocasset Neck; thence easterly into the woods, being Suckanessett's northerly bounds, etc., to the Christian Indian's lands.""
In 1685 permission was granted "to take up land," where now is East Falmouth, in the eastern portion of the town, east of the Five-Mile river, and east of the original possession. Robert Harper, James Percival, Joseph Hull, John Weeks, Joseph Hatch, Moses Rowley, sr., James Lewis and Thomas Creppan, sr., were the purchasers from the Indians.
On the fourth of June, 1686, (O. S.), the population received full incorporation as a township; but it was called Succonesset in the town records still later. On the sixth day of June, 1687, the town records its action as " We, the inhabitants of Suckanessett;" and again at a meeting of the proprietors at the house of Jonathan Hatch, in 1690,. it was "Ordered that all the undivided lands within said Suckanessett be laid out in lots and allotments as soon as convenient." Frederick Freeman thought that it was incorporated as Falmouth. The entry in Volume IV., Colony Records of Plymouth, says: " Upon the request of the inhabitants of Seipican, alias Rochester, to become a township and have the priviledges of a town, the Court granted theire desire in yt respect, & the like granted to Suckannesset inhabitants," and Charles F. Swift, in an examination of the provincial statutes, says he found the name Falmouth first used September 14, 1694. Arnold Gifford, of West Falmouth, has a deed dated March 16, 1693-4, in which Robert Harper, deeding to John Gifford, locates the land as "in Suckannesset, alias Falmouth," and we find no earlier use of the word.
In 1688 Thomas Bowerman had lands laid out to him, and in March, 1691, the lands of the "Plains " were granted to John Weeks, William Weeks, Thomas Parker, Joseph Parker, Benjamin Hatch, M)oses Hatch, William Gifford, John Gifford, Jonathan Hatch and Christopher Gifford. John Jenkins was appointed to do this work, and employed William Wyatt and Thomas Bowerman to assist. The head of Five-Mile river, now known as Dexter's river, was a swamp a short distance from Coonemosset pond, which point was the northeast boundary of the town at this time. The northern boundary ran from this point in a straight line to Chapoquoit Rock, known as Hog Island harbor.. The present boundary lines of the town include much more territory.
In February, 1689, lands at North Falmouth were "granted to John and Ebenezer Nye, sons of Benjamin, of Sandwich," Daniel Butler also occupied lands near by, as appears by the deeds, and these purchases were north of and adjoining the north line of the town as defined above. The remainder of the lands extending to the present north bounds of Falmouth were purchased by the proprietors in 1704, and in August the proprietors voted that Ebenezer Nye, Philip Dexter, Benjamin Nye, sr., Richard Landers, Stephen Harper, Benjamin Lewis, son of James, Jonathan Hatch, jr., Jonathan Johnson, Nathan Rowley, Joseph Hatch, jr., Benjamin Nye, jr., Gideon Gifford, and William Johnson, "having formerly paid their equal part of the purchase of the last addition of lands called the new purchase, on the borders of Sandwich,—purchased by Thomas Bowerman and Wm. Gifford, as agents for said proprietors who were not of the ancient proprietors, shall have each of them their equal part and right in all the said lands with all the old proprietors that have paid, or shall pay, their part of said purchase of lands."
The bounds between Falmouth and Mashpee were determined April 5, 1725, and extended the town quite to its present limits. The northeast part was ordered "Lotted " June 3, 1712, by the proprietors, and April 10, 1713, was granted to "Lt. Jona. Hatch, Thos. Parker, Nathan Fish, Nathan Ronley, John Jenkins, Joseph Bourne, Joshua Bourne, John Dimmick, Benjamin Burgess, John Gifford, Ezra Bourne, Thos. Crocker, Richard Landers, Judah Butler, John Nye, Benj. Hatch and John Otis."
The first settlers had now been located, and, although not three-fourths of a century had elapsed since the fourteen pioneers landed between Fresh and Salt ponds, near the sound, the territory was sparsely inhabited, roads had been laid out, mills erected, and the church had been severed from Barnstable and permanently established. The stern integrity and patriotism of the proprietors is fully indicated by the following excerpt from the record of their meeting May 27, 1718: "Voted that that lot called the burying place lot and that called the meeting-house lot is for the meeting-house to stand on and for a training field, and for any other common use or uses as the-major part of the proprietors shall hereafter see cause to put them to or any part of them. The burying place was staked down for the purpose of a burying place."
There are no records of the privations of these noble men who have bequeathed to the present residents and their progeny this Eden of the Cape. No doubt the old book of 1661-1699 would throw some interesting light upon the path of the historian and antiquarian. The primitive book had become so worn, it pages so intermingled with ear-marks for sheep, that in 1700 it was voted that the records of their-
lands should be transcribed and recorded in their new book of records. The old book is quaint and hoary. Its title page tells the story, and that the town proceedings were intended to be transcribed: " To Record all mareidges births and * * * * and the markes of cattel and all that is ned full to be tacken out of the old boock and placed in this with all towne bisnes that concarne the towne but not landes. begins the 25 day of October 1700."
The proprietors' records of lands were transcribed to a new book in obedience to the order, and that book was used until 1805, or as long as the need remained. The old record, including the town proceedings prior to 1700, was lost or destroyed. To this copy, by the courtesy of Mr. Hewins, the town clerk, we have had free access for extracts. In their quasi judicial capacity the proprietors met from time to time, and the record of these meetings constitutes the proprietors' records. The importance of this quaint document is evident when the reader realizes that it contains the original surveys and allotments of the lands. Since 1700 records pertaining to the town have been kept in books apart from the proprietors' records, which, especially for the past century, are now being copied verbatim et literatim into large, strongly-bound volumes to be preserved in the ample fireproof vault of the town hall.
To save the crops from devastation every housekeeper was ordered, March 25, 1701, to "kill 6 old or 12 young blackbirds, or 4 jays, by the 15th of June next and deliver the same to the selectmen; in default thereof to pay 3s for delinquency."
Prior to 1700 lands were set apart for the support of the gospel. In 1708, October 10, the following residents of Falmouth, members of the Barnstable church, by request, were transferred: John Robinson and Elisa, his wife; John Davis and Hannah, his wife; Moses Hatch and Elisa, his wife; Thomas Parker and Mary, his wife; Joseph Parker and Mercy, his wife; Aaron Rowley and Mary, his wife; Anna, wife of Joseph Hatch; Alice, wife of Benjamin Hatch; Mary, wife of William Johnson; Hannah, wife of Benjamin Lewis; Lydia, wife of Samuel Hatch; Bethia, wife of Joseph Robinson. These with others soon organized a church here, the history of which appears elsewhere.
Taxation begins with civilization and only ends with the millen-ium. In 1705 an indignation meeting was held that voted a reconsideration of the vote of the previous year to raise the minister's salary. The taxes ordered had been assessed, and it was voted to pay the collector one-half the amount, to pay the county tax first, and the balance to the selectmen. Mr. Timothy Robinson was "appointed agent for the town, to apply to the Court of General Sessions for an abatement of what the court had assessed on the town."
As late as 1716 wild animals harassed the people. The town, with
Sandwich and Barnstable, had long ago agreed to pay its proportion of a bounty of twenty pounds for the head of each wolf taken. This year it was called upon to pay for two killed by Sandwich men. In 1790 one wolf only remained, as the records show. Sixty dollars was offered for his head, and the valuable depredator's career was shortened. Other trials vexed the people. Philip Dexter, who had been assisted in erecting a mill on Five-Mile creek (which received its present name from him), for the benefit of the town, and was to receive its benefits, was complained of in 1719 as taking excessive tolls. October 14th, the town appointed Ensign Parker and Timothy Robinson to treat with him. The records do not explain whether expostulation lessened the length or depth of the toll dish. When Dexter's mill troubles had been settled, others arose that required committees to adjust. The new meeting house about this time was completed, and some would have seats, some pews. The committee was authorized to "seat the house according to their best judgment, and it was ordered that the seats be chalked out, and bids received for the pews." Still later Timothy Robinson asked "permission to build a small gallery and pew over the front gallery," and Thomas Parker "petitioned for leave to build a small gallery for a pew over the men's stairs in the S. W. corner"; both of which were granted.
In 1728 the town was engaged in a lawsuit with Samuel Barker respecting a road he wished laid from his property to Little harbor. The controversy continued ten years, and caused much expense. The town employed Sylvester Bourne, Esq., to defend it in court, and as late as 1735 "voted that there is a sufficient open road for the use of the town and county to the ferry at Woods Hole and convenient landing already provided."
With the indomitable will possessed by the leaders of the town in civil affairs, their sense of justice in religious deliberations was illustrated by the admission of "Cuffee," the negro servant of Deacon Parker, into full communion in 1732. He was baptized, and was made sufficiently white to be fellowshipped by the brethren.
At the close of its first century other schools had been established, sufficient roads throughout the town had been opened, the sound along its southern shore supplied the needs of the people by its commerce. Many had departed this life; as the modest stones in the old grave yard attest, only to be succeeded by sons and daughters well fitted to successfully carry on the unprecedented progress so auspiciously ordained by their God-fearing ancestors. These sons fully proved their rearings at Bunker Hill and other scenes during the struggle of the infant colonies for independence, and Falmouth was among the first to respond with men and money. Captain Joseph Robinson and Messrs. Noah Davis and Nathaniel Shiverick were appointed a
committee of correspondence in October, 1774, and it was soon after ordered that every man between the ages of sixteen and sixty be furnished with arms and ammunition,—the committee of safety to call the town together in one fortnight completely armed.
Everything was provided, and a committee appointed "to see that the Continental Congress be adhered to." The exposed situation of the town was realized and a watch was constantly kept by the vigilant citizens. A town meeting was called to direct the purchase of cereals to be stored in a safe place to sell to those who might need and distribute to the poor when necessary. British vessels were constantly in the sound, and all intercourse with markets was cut off. The town needed its own forces for its defense; but sent, nevertheless, its required number into the continental army. In 1776 they resolved, as before, "to stand by the Continental Congress," not forgetting to perform civil and religious duties by purchasing five hundred bushels of corn for their poor. In May, 1781, the town petitioned the general court "for relief from the enemy infesting the coast;" but without avail.
The dawn of peace in 1783 was hailed with joy by the harassed people of the town, and the peaceful pursuits of life were commenced anew. In 1788 permission was granted to Shubael Lawrence to build a fulling mill at Dexter's river; and to encourage the success of the same it was voted "that said mill shall be free from taxation." In 1797 the people living on the north side asked permission to annex themselves to Sandwich, but it was voted "that the people of the North shore ought not to be set off."
The present century opened auspiciously to this people. The social and moral development was manifested by the opening of a poor home on Shore street in the village, which soon was supplanted by a very pleasant and substantial building, with ample surroundings, a short distance east of the village. Mayhew Baker has been its keeper for the past twenty years, and Lemuel Howland was his predecessor. There have been, and at present are, very few who must be thus fed by the generosity of the town.
The enterprise of the citizens was evinced in various channels. Shipbuilding was active along the shores of the sound and bay, whalers as well as smaller craft being built.
Among the industries closely connected with the dawn of this century, and one of importance, was the manufacture of salt. In this, the long belt of sea shore and the salt ponds within its borders gave the town superior advantages. Logs were laid out into clearer and salter water, which by wind mills was pumped into vats and reservoirs on high ground, and there evaporated. The land between Salt and Fresh ponds was covered with sheds with revolving roofs to the
evaporating vats. At that early day the business was lucrative, salt bringing one dollar per bushel at the works. Ephraim Sanford, one of the later manufacturers, was wont to make trips to New York during the war of 1812, and could clear one hundred dollars on each trip. He had red sails to avoid notice at night. As among other enterprises of the day, those engaged in salt-making were captains John Crocker, Weston Jenkins, Elijah Swift and Silas Jones (father of the present bank president), who were succeeded by Ephraim Sanford, Captain John Butler, Knowles Butler and Davis and John Hatch; and among the late owners were Silas and Thomas Lawrence, John Dimmick, Nymphus Davis and Silas Davis. Edmund Davis was the last to carry on the business, and he continued until he found it more advantageous to sell out his site on the "Heights " for cottage lots. The business declined before the middle of the century, but was carried on to a limited extent as late as 1865.
Many of the people of Falmouth were wedded to the seas and the commerce of the world, in every department, had its hardy seamen, who, in the lonely night watch, turned his thoughts to this town as home; or here turned his steps when the cruise was finished.
Following the embargo act the large trade with the South was interrupted, and so broken up that its shipmasters turned their attention in other directions, greatly reducing and dispersing its commerce. The war that followed again unsettled the industries of these people and changed their pursuits. From its position the town was easily plundered, and was bombarded. Its men were on the alert and again demonstrated their devotion to the flag. One incident of a private character deserves mention. In 1814 Captain Weston Jenkins and others resolved to capture a British privateer that plundered the coasts. He, with thirty-two volunteers, a brass four-pounder and muskets, embarked at Woods Holl at night in a sloop, and rowed to Tarpaulin cove, where the Retaliation lay at anchor. After firing its long gun and seeing the sloop was anchored, a boat with the captain and five men proceeded to the sloop to take possession of the supposed, easy prize. The most of Captain Jenkins' men kept out of sight until the boat was alongside and made fast, when twenty-men arose with their muskets and captured its crew. Twelve men were put aboard this privateer's boat, the sloop was put under way also, and the privateer captured without resistance. The prize was brought in with its cargo, chiefly of plunder, and here landed. It had five guns, twelve men, and two American prisoners on board.
In the interval of peace Falmouth greatly increased in wealth and importance, and its sons, born in the interregnum of quiet and prosperity prior to the stirring scenes of 1861, are to-day its sterling business men. With the bombardment of Sumter its patriotism arose.
Many of its sons were at sea, but of men for its quota it furnished an excess of ten.
With increased facilities for the past quarter of a century, the town has moved into the first rank of those of the county. Its sons have gone forth to the far frontiers, to the distant seas, and to adjacent cities, always to honor their home by integrity and high-born principles.
On the 15th of June, 1886, the town appropriately celebrated the two-hundredth anniversary of its organization. The highest officers of the state, and its distinguished citizens from every clime assembled to do honor and return thanks. The proceedings of the memorable day have already formed a red-letter page in the history of the town and need no details here.
The prominence of this vicinity as a summer resort noticed at page 153 is steadily increasing and rapidly becoming the chief characteristic of the town.
The town house is worthy of the citizens, and is a model for beauty and convenience. It contains offices on the sides of the main entrance, a hall for town business and meetings below, and a fine large hall above equipped with stage, dressing rooms, a gallery, cloak rooms, a fine piano, and every convenience. The plans for the hall were accepted by the selectmen in April, 1880, the building was completed in 1881 and the grounds graded, at a total cost of about $15,000. Prior to this the town assembled in a town house, erected in 1840, just west of the "Old Shiverick Stand," which was the first town house built here that was made separate from the meeting house.
A commanding part of the town is found at The Heights—a ridge of sandy loam extending southerly and abruptly facing the sound. It is about one mile east of Falmouth village and is famous as a summer resort. It has many cottages which give it the appearance of a village when seen from the sound. One building, towering above all others as a lookout and resort, was in 1889 converted into a place of worship, called "People's Church."
In the year 1876, $14,000 was appropriated for the expenses of the town, $4,000 being for common schools, $2,000 for the poor, $2,500 for highways, etc.; for 1889 the sum of $32,460 was appropriated, $6,000 for schools, $3,500 for the poor, $9,500 for highways, $1,800 for projected roads, and the remainder to be absorbed in celebrating Memorial Day, paying salaries, high school expenses, etc. Could the original proprietors look in upon the town in these closing years of the nineteenth century, would they not point with warning to their vote rescinding a tax of £42 as too burdensome ?
The foundations of the town having been laid in Christian principles, morality became a vital element in its history. Each successive
generation strove to perfect this element. In 1824 an elaborate organization, called the Sabbath School Union of Falmouth, was formed; and was actively engaged in and carrying on the good results of which will ever be felt. In 1830 a temperance committee was appointed and strong temperance resolutions were passed making the use of intoxicating drinks as a beverage a disqualification for church membership.
The mills of this date are not so numerous as earlier in the century, but are of greater capacity and of modern construction. One wind mill remains, and in different parts of the town may be seen the debris of those once important industries. Two water mills supply the want.
During the first half of the nineteenth century the middle-aged and younger citizens labored in the South, spending seven or eight months of the year in South Carolina, in their several avocations, and returning home for the summer months. Tradition says that prior to 1830 as many as six hundred of the enterprising residents of Falmouth made these annual visits. The industries have been greatly changed during the last half of the present century, new assuming the place of the old. Not until 1872 was a coal yard opened; then by Marcus Starbuck, a real estate broker. Two years later he sold the business to George E. Clarke, who in April 1888, sold to Rowland R. Jones & Co.
The improvement of the highways, stocking the ponds with other than native fish, and the best regulations possible for the public good regarding the catch of herrings, have been carefully adjusted by the selectmen. In 1854 the law was made to exclude animals from the roads, and officers are elected annually to enforce the rule. By the vote of 1854 pickerel were placed in all suitable ponds of the town, and have thrived. In 1865, "Voted that the herring of rivers of the town be allowed to pass up and down said rivers into the ponds unmolested, from 12 o'clock, noon, Saturday, to 12 noon on Monday each week, except that the herring in Coonemossett river be allowed from 10 o'clock at night to 5 in the morning of each day in the week unmolested in addition." This gives the poor herring of the Coonemosset far more privileges than in other rivers.
The selectmen keep the lines of the town and public places definitely bounded and plant granite monuments. April 11, 1871, they surveyed accurately and fixed permanently the bounds between Falmouth and Mashpee, supplementing them by those for Sandwich and Bourne. There is no doubt that if these selectmen could arrange a fixed line on the sound for the south bounds of the town they would have done so long ago !
At a period prior to 1877 the enterprising young ladies of the town took the initial steps for establishing a library, which is now very creditable and important. On account of the increasing demand for 41
the library, and to give sufficient room for the same, in 1878 the ladies were given the use of a room in the old town building. When the new hall was built a large room was assigned to them.
At the March town meeting in 1865, a committee of five was appointed to find evidence and make complaint against people who shall sell any intoxicating liquors within the borders, appropriating five hundred dollars to enforce the law, and allowing twenty dollars for every conviction. The records show no convictions, but the law is kept in force year by year; and the good people set their faces against all uncleanliness and works of the evil one, even to giving bounties for the killing of every woodchuck, muskrat and chicken hawk that may willfully enter the borders of the,town in quest of the grains or young poultry of the people.
The advent of a branch of the Old Colony railroad, in 1872, passing through the western portion of the town to Woods Holl, has greatly changed the tide of travel and the industries of the people. In wealth and prominence the town is second to none in the county; its assessed value for 1889 being over $4,000,000. Many remain of the descendants of those sires who so prudently laid the foundation of the town. The records in 1886 gave the following names and numbers on the polls: Of Davis 35, Baker 22, Fish 22, Gifford 21, Lawrence 19, and from them came the only benefactor by bequest the town has had, Mr. Shubael Lawrence. Of the name of Hatch on the list there are 18, Nye 17, Robinson 17, Swift 16, Childs 15, Jones 13, Bowman 12, Phinney 11, Hamblin 10, Crocker 9, Fisher, Smalley, 8 each; Dimmick, Bourne, Studley, 6 each; Jenkins, Chadwick, Hewins, Edwards, 5 each; Shiverick, Eldred, Tobey, Burgess, Crowell, Baxter, 4 each; Green, Donaldson, Weeks, Wicks, 3 each; Lewis, Pease, Butler, Bearse, Bowman, 2 each; Bodfish, Sturgis, Dillingham, 1 each. There are other names, but these mentioned have been selected because they can be traced to the first days in most instances.
Civil Lists.—When the plantation of Succonesset was incorporated as a town it was entitled to a deputy in the general court. In 1689 occurred the first election of deputies when, in December, John Robinson was elected. Governor Phipps, in 1692, required a representative from each town to the first great and general court under the new charter. This town sent Moses Rowley, who is the only representative named until 1735, when Joseph Robinson was elected, and served nine years at various times. Until 1857 the town was entitled to one or more representatives in the general court, at which time it was joined with Barnstable and Sandwich, as fully appears in Chapter V. Those who represented the town during the interval with the first year of each man's service and the number of years—if more than one—served, not always consecutive, were: 1736, Seth Parker, 6 years;
1741, Joseph Parker, 2; 1746, Thomas Shiverick; 1747, Rowland Robinson, 6; 1762, Daniel Butler; 1762, Thomas Smith, 2; 1773, Moses Swift, 3; 1776, Nathaniel Shiverick, 3; 1779, Joseph Dimmick; 1780, Samuel Bourne; 1788, David Nye, 14; 1799, Timothy Crocker; 1806, Brad. Dimmick, 8; 1807, Francis Wicks, 4; 1808, James Hinckley, 5; 1811, Thomas Fish, 21; 1812, Shubael Lawrence, 2; 1828, Elijah Swift, 12; 1834, Ward M. Parker, 4; 1836, Nathaniel Shiverick, 2; 1839, Silas Jones, 2; 1840, Ebenezer Nye, 3; 1844, S. P. Crosswell, 4; 1848, Knowles Butler, 3; 1851, David Lawrence, 2; 1853, Thomas Lewis, 2; 1855, Erasmus Gould, 2; 1857, J. T. Dillingham.
The internal affairs of the town have been administered by men as able as those chosen to participate in colonial or state affairs, and many have officiated in both. The important duties of the office of selectman have been performed by the following persons since 1700. The year of election and years of service, when more than one, appear: 1701, Thomas Bowerman, 4; Philip Dexter, 3; Mel. Bourne, 5; 1702, John Robinson; 1703, Richard Landers; James Lewis; Isaac Green, 2; 1704, John Davis, 2; Hope Lothrop, 5; 1705, Ebenezer Nye, 2; Timothy Robinson, 16; 1707, Joseph Parker, 7; 1709, Samuel Lewis, 6; Aaron Rowley, 2: 1711, Joseph Lothrop, 4; 1713, Moses Hatch, 2; Joseph Robinson, 5; 1717, Thomas Shiverick, 16; 1718, Nathaniel Davis; 1719, Joseph Crowell; 1724, John Bourne, 8; 1730, Elnathan Nye; 1733, John Jenkins, 3; William Weeks; 1735, Ebenezer Hatch; 1737, Rowland Robinson, 11; 1740, Thomas Parker, 8; 1744, Daniel Butler, 8; 1756, Joseph Robinson, 14; Nathaniel Nickerson, 7; 1759, Solomon Swift, 9; Seth Nye; 1760, Stephen Bowerman, 5; 1761, Moses Swift, 3; 1766, Joseph Wing, 9; 1768, David Crowell, 10; Timothy Crocker, 14; 1769, Samuel Shiverick. 3; 1.774, Joseph Dimmick; 1775, Nathaniel Shiverick, 23; 1776, Benjamin Parker; 1782, Job Parker, 4; 1786, Joseph Hatch, 19; John Nye, 3; 1789, Paul Swift, 9; 1796, John Robinson, 2; 1798, Samuel Nye, 2; 1799, Samuel Shiverick, 4; 1800, Joseph Palmer, 3; 1802, Prince Gifford, 9; 1803; James Hinckley, 10; 1809, Solomon Green, 7; 1813, Thomas Fish, 20; Braddock Dimmick, 10; 1816, Philip Phinney, 9; 1823, Stephen Nye, 2; 1825, Timothy Nye, 20; William Gifford, 3; 1827, William Nye, 8; 1831, Daniel Swift, 7; 1832, John Robinson, 8; 1838, Barnabas Bowerman, 12; 1840, Knowles Butler, 15; 1849, William Nye, 13; 1850, Prince G. Moore, 14; 1851, David Lawrence; 1855, Nymphas Davis, 2; 1857, Silas Jones, 2; 1859, Thomas Lewis, 5: 1862, Silas Eldred, 2; 1863, Zenas Hamlin, 6; 1864, William Nye, jr., 5; 1866, Zenas Hamlin, 3; 1870, Thomas Lewis, jr., 6; 1873, Meltiah Gifford, 5; 1876, Silas Hatch, 15; 1881, Joshua C. Robinson, 10; 1885, T. H. Lawrence; 1886, James E. Gifford; 1887, Frank J. C. Swift, 4.
The town clerks have ever been charged with trusts of importance, doing the clerical work for the town government, and after a judicious
selection has been made the policy of the town seems to be to continue them in office. In the following list the succession of clerks, and the time of election, are given: 1700, Thomas Lewis; 1702, Philip Dexter; 1703, Thomas Bowerman; 1707, Meltiah Bourne; 1711,Timothy Robinson; 1715, Joseph Parker; 1724, Joseph Robinson; 1730, Moses Hatch; 1735, Thomas Shiverick; 1737, John Hammond; 1739, Rowland Robinson; 1740, John Bourne; 1750, John Crowell; 1757, Joseph Bourne; 1777, Joseph Palmer; 1780, Joseph Palmer, jr.; 1791, Job Parker; 1804, James Hinckley; 1813, Braddock Dimmick; 1823, Richard S. Wood; 1838, Charles W. Jenkins; 1845, William Nye; 1858, Thomas Lewis; 1884, William H. Hewins.
Another important office in the machinery of town government is treasurer. Formerly the office was separate, but since 1858 the duties of clerk and treasurer have been performed by the same person. These officers, with date of election, are as follows: 1701, Joseph Parker; 1708, Melatiah Bourne; 1710, Thomas Parker; 1718, Joseph Robinson; 1719, John Dimmick; 1736, William Green; 1744, John Bourne; 1745, Theophilus Dimmick; 1750, Rowland Robinson; 1757, Joseph Bourne; 1777, Joseph Palmer; 1780, Joseph Palmer, jr.; 1791, Job Parker; 1804, James Hinckley; 1813, Braddock Dimmick; 1823, Richard S. Wood; 1838, Charles W. Jenkins; 1845, William Nye; 1853, Charles F. Swift; 1854, William Nye, jr.; 1858, Thomas Lewis; 1884, William H. Hewins.
Ecclesiastical History.—Traces of the Plymouth ideas underlie the public policy of the proprietors during the first century of this town's progress. Although the peaceful disciples of Fox early became an element in moulding public thought and modifying the tendencies of Puritanism, church and state were one. The affairs of religion and of the state were so interwoven that at town meeting for the election of officers, the preacher was also elected and provided for by tax. The support of the church was the first duty. The foundation laid by these fathers has been a strong one upon which to erect Congregational communities, but within the past century the Methodist and Episcopal adherents have increased to strong societies.
The first services of the First Congregational Church were held in what was a town house and meetinghouse, erected by the first settlers near the old burying ground in the southwest part of Falmouth village. In 1681 the court ordered the people and society of Succonesset "to set apart lands for the help and encouragement of the teaching of the Good Word of God." This was done in 1687, and in 1700 Samuel Shiverick was mentioned in the proprietors' records as having been here, for several years previous, preaching and teaching. He was dismissed in 1702. In August, 1706, Mr. John Gore was voted to be the minister of the town. If he came his stay was short; for May 19,.
1707, Rev. Joseph Metcalf was called with settlement of" £160, 2 good cows and his wood, and to have a salary of £40, for the first three years." He died December 24, 1723.
In 1715 a new meeting house was to be built "on the same lot where the old one does and to be for the town's use in public worship and to meet in open town meetings." This was near the old grave yard, but the building was not completed till 1717.
Josiah Marshall accepted a call as pastor April 6, 1724, and was dismissed August 14, 1730. In February following they "Voted to treat with Mr. Samuel Palmer." From the settlement of the town until 1731, the ecclesiastical and civil acts of the town were recorded in the town books. Rev. Samuel Palmer on becoming their pastor, began a separate record. The following quotations are from it.
"Falmouth Church Records Continued from November 24th, 1731, on which Day Samuel Palmer was Seperated to the Work of the Ministry and ordained the Pastor of that Church. * * Containing Admission of Members, Administration of Sacraments, Dicipline, &c.
pr. Samuel Palmer, Pastor."
"Falmouth, 13th April, 1775, this day Died the Rev. Samuel Palmer, Pastor of this Church, in the sixty-eighth year of his age, and in the 45th of his ministry." After the funeral on the 15th the church appointed the 26th as a day of fasting, prayer and public religious exercises. On the 26th Thomas Smith, Esqr., was chosen moderator of the church and Timothy Crocker clerk, until a pastor be ordained.
"Apl. 30. Abraham Williams, of Sandwich, baptized two persons, and on the following day a committee was appointed to supply the pulpit with a minister. Revds. Gideon Holley, of Mashpe, preached once, and Mr. Zebulon Butler, eight times, and on July 3rd, 1775, the church voted at the house of the clerk to call Mr. Butler to be their pastor, if the town concur. Two weeks later Deacons Jos. Davis, Solomon Price & Bro. Samuel Bourn were made a committee to present this vote to Mr. Zebulon Butler, provided the town concur with it." Later, Timothy Crocker, as clerk, writes Mr. Butler at Nantucket of their choice, adding that the town has "concurred with the church in their choice as will appear by their vote of the 17th of July, 1775." Mr. Butler preached each Sabbath thereafter, and on August 19th in a formal letter accepted the call, expressing the hope he should ever have grace to prefer their spiritual interest to any temporal acquisition and "trusting to your generosity to make all necessary provisions for my comfortable support as God shall prosper you." His request for dismission was granted July 7, 1778.
From this time the records notice Solomon Read, Mr. Crosby (Crosberry), Gideon Holley, Josiah Cotton and Isaiah Mann as preaching for them until January 19, 1780, when Isaiah Mann was ordained, by
the assistance of Revds. Holley, of Mashpee, Shaw and Hillard, of Barnstable, and Alden, of Yarmouth, with their delegates. Rev. Isaiah Mann died April 20, 1789, in the thirtieth year of his age, and the ninth of his ministry.
June 12th following was observed by the church as a day of fasting and prayer, and on July 26th Henry Lincoln, from Hingham, began preaching, and on December 31,1789, accepted the pastorate. He was ordained February 3, 1790, and dismissed November 26, 1823. In the time he received into the church 411 members. He died at Nantucket, May 28, 1857, aged ninety-two. He was succeeded by Rev.. Benjamin Woodbury, who was ordained June 9, 1824, and dismissed September 19, 1833. He died in Ohio, in 1845. Rev. Josiah Bent was installed February 5, 1834, and dismissed February 21, 1837. During his ministry fifty-nine were added to the church. He died at Amherst, in October, 1839. Henry B. Hooker, D.D., was installed February 21, 1837, and dismissed June 16, 1858, when he was called to the important post of secretary of the Massachusetts Home Missionary Society. Rev. William Bates was installed June 16, 1858, and died September 10, 1859. Rev. James P. Kimball was installed June 2, 1860. Rev. Henry K. Craig succeeded, and filled the pulpit until his dismissal, October, 1888. Rev. C. G. Hill then was engaged as supply until October, 1889.
The meeting house of 1717 has been noticed as standing near the town burying place; but in 1749 the present square was laid out, on which a church building was erected. The vote was taken finally, after years of controversy, March 11, 1750, that "the new meetinghouse to be built shall be 42 feet square, and the present house used to build." The new church was unique in construction, plain, with sixteen windows of seven by nine glass on each side, which admitted all the light they needed—of that kind. It was fronted with a porch having three doors. The high pews would seem unsightly to the present generation, but the building served well the needs of the day, and in 1857 it was transformed into its present fair form, and placed where it now stands. In its tower swings the bell that was purchased for the old church near the burying place, and which is now in its third position, summoning the sons of those fathers to worship. Among the; papers of the town is this:
Boston, Nov. 30, 1796, W. H. F. Lincoln }
Bo't of Paul Revere
One church bell } cents $
Weight 807 lbs, @ 42, 338.94
Received payment by a note—Paul Revere.
A town conference was formed by the four Congregational churches, December 4, 1860, which meets alternately in the churches of the town. These union meetings have been productive of much good.
The Second Congregational Church was organized June 20, 1821. For twenty-five preceding years the people of Hatchville, or East End, had religious services, preaching being supplied by the First Congregational Church. During the latter years of that period there had been considerable dissatisfaction and "grevious disappointment in the First church," and as there was no prospect of a reconciliation, a large number of the members residing in the east end of the town, where a church edifice had been erected in 1797, petitioned for this organization, and accordingly May 24, 1821, the First church "chose a committee of five to inquire into the business and report." This they did, June 4,1821, recommending that "the First church dismiss the said petitioners and by council organize them into the second Cong, church." Accordingly on the 20th of June, 1821, Reverends David L. Hunn, Josiah Sturtevant and Peter Crocker, with others in the capacity of an ecclesiastical council, proceeded to organize the petitioners into a church. Forty-one persons assenting to the doings of the council and signing the covenant as then propounded, the Second Congregational church entered upon its career. Benjamin Hatch was chosen deacon, and Sylvanus Hatch, clerk.
Silas Shores supplied the pulpit until July, 1822, when he was settled as pastor at the sum of four hundred dollars. He was duly ordained and installed July 31, 1822, and continued till June 17, 1828, when he was obliged to seek dismission for "lack of pecuniary support." The church was then supplied three years by Melancthon G. Wheeler, and three years by John Hyde. Rev. Timothy Davis was installed pastor April 22, 1835, and dismissed June 5, 1836. Mr. William Harlow now supplied the church for two years. Rev. James D. Lewis was next called, and was installed pastor September 26, 1842, and dismissed December 7, 1846. During this pastorate the new confession of faith and covenant was adopted, but again changed in 1846. Mr. Silas S. Hyde was pastor from December 8, 1847, to June, 1851. Rev. O. G. Hubbard supplied the pulpit three months prior to his death, August 14, 1852. Mr. A C. Childs was ordained May 18, 1853, and dismissed October 9,1855. Rev. George Ford was installed May 21, 1856, and dismissed April 16, 1862. Rev. Edward Seabury was pastor from October 1, 1863, to May, 1869; D. H. Babcock from September, 1869, to May, 1881; David Perry from May, 1872, to his death, August 27, 1876. It was during the latter pastorate that a large and comfortable parsonage was built. Rev. Samuel Fairley was pastor from August, 1877, to his death, by drowning, August 19,
1881. Rev. S. Morrison was pastor from 14 to 1888, when the present pastor, Reverend Thomas Bell, took charge.
Mr. Shubael Lawrence bequeathed to this society ten thousand dollars, the interest or income of which shall always be applied to the payment of the salary of a minister or religious teacher for said society, "provided that the society at their own expense shall within two years after my decease, turn their present house of worship gable end to the road—put a handsome steeple to the same, put up a bell of sufficient size—paint and keep the whole always in good repair, and forever keep the house standing at the head of the burying ground where it now stands." Mr. Lawrence dying March 18, 1841, the church and society immediately took measures to fulfill the conditions of the will, which were carried out at a cost of $2,200, the dedicatory services taking place September 26, 1842. The burying ground behind the church was given by Mr. Ezekiel Robinson in 1796, the first grave being that of Mr. Jonathan Hatch, who died July 28, 1796, and the second, that of his father, Ebenezer, who died the same year.
The first mention in the records of the society bearing the name of Methodist is in 1809. Those of that faith were few, but through the labors of Rev. Erastus Otis a society was gathered in that year, which in 1811 was incorporated as The Methodist Society of Falmouth and Sandwich. The meeting for incorporation was held at Pocasset in June, 1811, it being then the most central and convenient. A meetinghouse was then erected by the society near the cemetery east of Falmouth village. Prior to the organization of the society those of the faith held their social meetings in Stephen Swift's kitchen; the first was January 8, 1807. Dr. Hugh G. Donaldson was a pioneer in the faith here until his death in 1812. November 20, 1829, William Nye deeded to the society a half acre, upon which the present edifice stands. Such names of pastors as can be unearthed are: Reverends Otis Wilder, 1839; O. Robbins, 1842; Benjamin L. Sayer and William Turkington, 1844; Hebron Vincent, 1845; J. M. Worcester, 1846; E. D. Trakey, 1848; B. Otheman, 1854; E. R. Hinckley, 1858.
The old book of records was lost, but tradition gives the names of Reverends M. Wheeler, Mr. Stetson and Mr. Gifford, to be added to the preceding ones, which are taken from an old record of membership. The records commence in 1870, giving the pastors as follows: E. S. Fletcher, 1870; C. G. Dening, 1873; G. H. Winchester, 1874; Henry W. Hamblin, 1875; E. M. Moss, 1877; Mr. Hayes and J. H. Vincent, 1878; W. I. Ward, 1879, who went to theological school, and W. L. D. Twomley filled the year; D. J. Griffen, 1880; Irving R. Lovejoy and W. C. Helt, 1881; J. M. Tabor, 1882; Thomas Simms, 1883; T. A. Johnstone, 1884; P. Perinchief, 1885; Albert G. Smith, 1886; Ernest Eldridge, 1887; C. K. Jenness, 1888; and Herman C. Scripps, 1889.
The Congregational church of North Falmouth was organized August 15, 1833, being composed of twenty-three members of the First and Second churches, who resided in the vicinity. The church edifice was dedicated November 1, 1833. The early members were Benjamin, Stephen, Ebenezer, John, Joshua, Shubael, and Charles J. Nye, and Rev. Paul Jewett. There were fourteen females, none now living, as members. Former deacons were Ebenezer, Joshua and Samuel Nye, the last survivor. F. G. Nye is the present clerk.
Rev. Paul Jewett was installed August 21, 1833, and dismissed June 25, 1834, since when there has been no settled minister. Among the preachers supplying the pulpit have been: Daniel D. Tappan, 1834; Gideon Dana, 1836; John Pike, 1837; Charles C. Beaman, 1841; Asahel Cobb, 1844; Lorain Reed, 1848; Nathaniel Cobb, 1850; Cyrus Mann, 1852; Mr. Weston, 1857; Levi Wheaton, 1858; Mr. Paine, E. W. Allen, Mr. Kilburn, and, since April, 1888, Rev. Mr. Woodworth, of Cambridge.
The Congregational church edifice at Waquoit was dedicated February 2, 1848, but the society was not organized until January 3, 1849. Its original members numbered eighteen, seventeen of whom previously belonged to the society in East Falmouth. They have never had a settled pastor. Rev. Spencer F. Beard labored as stated supply from October, 1848, to April, 1853. His pastorate resulted in the addition of thirty-two persons to the church. The successive supplies have been: Horace Pratt, from June, 1853, for two years; Rev. Anson Hubbard, from October, 1855, to May, 1856; Rev. Levi Little, for several months; Rev. Job Cushman, for a few Sabbaths; Rev. Elijah Demond, from October, 1859, to April, 1863; Rev. David Brigham, October, 1863 to 1870; Reverends James R. Cushing, Sayer, Wilbur and Burn from the Methodist Episcopal church at East Falmouth, to 1877; Rev. Samuel Fairley, from 1877, to August, 1881; Rev. Joshua S. Gay, from September, 1882, to March, 1885; Rev. Samuel Morrison, from April, 1885, to October, 1888; Rev. Thomas Bell, of Hatchville, for 1889.
The early Methodists at East Falmouth worshipped in the school house. The faithful band were served with preaching by Reverends Lambert, Otis, Hardy, Keith, Merrill, Paine, Binney, Haven, Bates and others. In later years the pastor at Falmouth village preached here. In 1852-3 Rev. Mr. Adams supplied, and in 1854, Rev. J. C. Allen. In 1855 Rev. Mr. Bennett, of Sandwich, supplied. In 1856-7 Rev. J. E. Gifford was stationed at Falmouth, preaching here once in two weeks. In 1858 the same gentleman, supernumerary, by request filled the desk until April, 1859, and the class was increased from nineteen to fifty-four. In 1859 a building committee, consisting of Captain John Tobey, Elnathan Baker, Alexander Clark and Andrew Baker, was appointed. Four hundred dollars, for the year 1859-60, was
provided for the preacher's support. Rev. Abel Alton was appointed here in 1859-60. The building was completed and dedicated November 30, 1859. The pastors since have been: Franklin Sears, 1860, 1861; Lawton Cady, 1862; S. T. Wallace, 1863,1864; John S. Fish, 1865-1867; Franklin Sears, 1868; R. F. Macy, 1869, to March, 1870; Charles Stokes, 1870,1871; John S. Fish, 1872-1874; Benjamin L. Sayer, from April, 1875, to fall of 1875, (he died March, 1876); William Wilbur supplied from November, 1875, to April, 1876; Richard Burn, 1876-1878; A. B. Bessey, 1879; D. J. Griffin, 1880 for six months, then Rev. H. W. Hamblin supplied for six months, and was appointed to the charge in 1881; John McVay, 1882; Nelson Whittney served for a time in the interim, ending with Rev. Mr. Sherman in April, 1888; Rev. James B. Washburn commenced his pastorate in April, 1888.
The Church of the Messiah at Woods Holl is a Protestant Episcopal church. It was the first religious society here. A wooden edifice was erected in 1853 by the people of the village, aided by donations from Falmouth village and elsewhere. The final payment of the expense of the building was made by Joseph S. Fay, who had also donated the site. The church was consecrated by the Rt. Rev. Bishop Eastburn, February 14, 1854, and was free of debt by the exertions of John L. Webster in obtaining subscriptions, and the generosity of Mr. Fay.
The first rector was the Rev. Thomas Brenton Flower, who resigned in the year 1862. After that the parish was without a minister until 1863, when the Massachusetts Church Missionary Society sent the Rev. John West to take charge of it. He was followed by the Rev. Mr. Robinson, of St. Mary's Church for Seamen in Boston, for one or two summers, and he by the Rev. Hiram Carleton, D. D., in 1871. Doctor Carleton gathered up the scattered flock and reorganized the parish in 1873, there having been no annual meeting, nor any wardens and vestry for several years, and it became comparatively strong and vigorous. The aid of the Diocesan Board of Missions was dispensed with in 1877. In that year the rectory was built and given the parish by Joseph S. Fay. Dr. Carleton resigned his charge in 1881, and was succeeded by the Rev. Charles Mcllvaine Nicholson, who died in the year 1885. In 1883 the title of the church property was made over to the trustees of Donations of the Diocese, and the church was made a free church by vote of the pewholders, and in the year 1886, the present faithful and beloved rector, the Rev. Henry H. Neales, was elected, accepted the position and took charge of the parish.
On the 17th of September, 1888, the corner stone of a new church was laid, and the edifice was built on the site of the former one, by Joseph Story Fay, under permission of the vestry, as a thank-offering. The same generous donor remodeled the old church building into a.
neat and convenient parish house, which was ready for use at the close of 1889.
Prior to 1857 regular services had been maintained at West Falmouth by the Methodist people, the ministers of the Falmouth church officiating on alternate Sabbaths. An organization was perfected in 1857. The first members, who were dismissed from the Falmouth church to form this, numbered twenty-two. A building committee was chosen, composed of Asa S. Tobey, Braddock Baker, Gideon H. Baker, Reuben Landers and Silas J. Eldred, who employed Alvin Crowell to erect a church, which was completed in 1857. The first pastor in the new church was Rev. Charles A. Carter, a former pastor in Falmouth and a supernumerary, who was sent as a supply, remaining two years; he also was pastor here in 1863-5. Others from Falmouth village, prior to 1879, officiated here, among them, Rev. R. H. Dorr, A. S. Edgerly, S. Hamilton Day, Moses Brown, Mr. Roach, and Mr. Stephenson. Rev. J. S. Davis, a student, was a supply for two years prior to April 1, 1881; E. H. Hatfield succeeded for two years; and J. O. Dening, George M. Meese, William H. Sommers, J. C. Bell and Fred. L. Rounds successively officiated. Many of the preachers who have supplied this pulpit have been students at the time, and a salary of three to four hundred dollars has been paid each year.
The clerk of the society elected for 1889 was Andrew J. Hamblin. The records in past years have not contained full transactions of the doings of the society, which neglect was humorously rebuked by S. Hamilton Day when he wrote in the church book, and over his full name, this significant question: "What is the use of a church record if preachers in charge ignore its existence ?"
The Methodists at Woods Holl united in worship with the Congregational Society prior to 1878, in the building called the "People's Church." The societies having increased, have held separate services since; the Methodists retaining the church which now belongs to them. On the fourth of July, 1844, the Methodist Episcopal Society was organized by twelve members of other societies and nine probationers. Trustees were elected and the following pastors have officiated: Revs. Richard H. Dorr, from July, 1884; J. B. Smith, from April, 1885; L. M. Flocker, from April, 1887; Henry Pearce, from April, 1888; C. E. Todd, from December, 1888; M. B. Wilson, from April, 1889.
St. Barnabas Parish, at Falmouth, had been a mission under the parochial care of Rev. Mr. Neale of Woods Holl, assisted by Charles H. Perry. On December 27, 1888, a church organization with the above name was organized, with E. Pierson Beebe, senior warden; Dr. James M. Watson, junior warden; and J. Arthur Beebe, Frank H. Beebe, and Dr. A. T. Walker, vestrymen. The rector, Charles H. Perry, was called on Easter Monday, 1889, and was ordained June 15th
following. He is a graduate of Williams College and of the Cambridge Divinity School. Ground has been purchased and a fine church edifice is being erected, which is to be a thank-offering from the Bee-bes. The corner stone was laid July 23, 1889.
Schools.*—Falmouth early gave attention to public education, although the early school records are fragmentary and sometimes ambiguous. The first record is: "The 6th day of August, 1701, the town of Falmouth assembled together, and it was then voted by said town, and agreed to, that we should look out abroad for a suitable and fit person to preach the word of God in this town to us; and to keep school for the good of our children." It would seem that schools were later neglected, for a meeting held February 17, 1713, " Made choice of Lieut. Moses Hatch to be the town's agent, to get off the town's presentment for want of a schoolmaster," and voted that Daniel Legg should be the next town schoolmaster. He was reelected at a meeting held March 22, 1715.
The first female teacher was employed in 1716. At a meeting held August seventh of that year, "Hannah Sargent [was] made choice of to be the town's School Dame this year with a salary of twelve pounds and diet." She was reelected in 1718. At this time the selectmen were appointed agents to contract with her, and to locate the school "at ye four quarters of ye town as they may agree." September 15,1724, the salary of the school-mistress was "twelve pounds and diet, also the use of a horse twice in the year, that she might visit her friends." The whole sum raised for schools had increased to £22, 8s., in 1720.
At a town meeting held December 22, 1729, it was voted that the school remain half a year at a place, " the Town quarter having had their part already, the Northern quarter is to have a quarter more, after the date hereof and half a year at each part of the town for ye future, and until the town shall see cause to alter this agreement." The same meeting voted that twenty-six pounds be raised for the school this year, and for dividing the town into parts, nine shillings; for fetching the school into town, £1, 6s., to Thomas Shiverick. The salary of the teacher was thirty pounds in 1735, with a further allowance of five shillings per week for board. In 1737 and 1738 Joseph Pitts was the town schoolmaster, at thirty-five pounds salary, and moved from place to place, as the town saw cause. June 16, 1741, Nathan Lewis was agreed with to serve the town as schoolmaster half a year, at the rate of ten pounds a quarter, the town to find him diet. " At a town meeting held Apr. 13, 1742, it was voted that he who shall diet the schoolmaster from this time, shall have nine pence added of the last emission, to the former five shillings, which was agreed for his board a week."
*By Prof. S. A. Holton of the Falmouth High School.
Previous to 1745 the schoolmaster was elected in town meeting, but in that year Mr. Thomas Parker was chosen agent to provide the town with a school. Similar votes were passed in succeeding years,, the number of agents being increased as new schools were established. We find in the record of a meeting held March 29, 1757, the following: "Voted the town to be divided from John Lawrence's running northerly by Cit Greene's to John Greene's and Reuben Giffords, those aforesaid houses included, and all ye inhabitants westerly to Woods Hole to have a school master, and agree for one and his board as cheap as they can, and such a one as shall answer ye law, and ye whole town to be rated and raise so much money as shall answer ye town for schooling and ye northerly and easterly parts of sd town to have not other advantage of such school but as they are rated to draw their proportion of money equal as they pay to their school or schools and as they shall think proper, and be obliged to put money drawn to that use." From this time the bounds of the districts were frequently changed and the number increased until there were nineteen.
March 4, 1763, a committee was chosen to procure some suitable person to keep a grammar school. January 22, 1767, "Voted to have two schools a man and a woman for ye schools." Previous to this time the grammar school had been suspended, and April 25, 1769, Noah Davis was chosen to defend the town in an action brought against it for this neglect. Noah Davis and Shubael Nye were chosen a committee March 15, 1779, to provide the town with a grammar school, which has continued to this time although for some years it led a wandering existence, being kept in the various parts of the town alternately.
By the close of the century the amount of money annually raised for educational purposes had been increased to four hundred dollars. At this time eighty citizens becoming convinced that better accommodations were needed for the schools, organized September 18,1799, with a capital of $592.80. At their meeting, October 1, 1799, it was voted that they and the Masonic society complete the outside of the building and lay the floors equally between them. Elijah Swift contracted to erect the building for $675. Timothy Hatch was chosen to sign the contract for the proprietors and to oversee the work. An assessment of one dollar per share was levied for furniture. The rent for public schools was fixed at "Two pence on each scholar that goes per week through the district, exclusive of fire-wood." The master and mistress were to collect the rent and fire-wood from the scholars monthly. The rent was soon reduced to one cent per week. March 7, 1808, the districts had increased in number so that twelve agents were chosen as follows: Samuel Shiverick, Solomon Davis, Prince Athern, Solomon Lawrence, Bartlett Robinson, Benjamin
Hatch, Ebenezer Phinney, Nathan Ellis, Levi Landers, William Weeks, jr., and Barnabas Baker. It was voted that the agents act as school committee—the first mention found of such officials.
The educational system seems now to have been established upon a firm basis and to have continued with but slight changes until the year 1866, when several of the nineteen districts were united, and in the following year the town purchased the school houses and abolished the entire district system. Several new buildings were erected and schools were located where they still remain—at Woods Holl, Quissett, Falmouth village, West Falmouth, North Falmouth, Hatchville, Waquoit, Davisville, East Falmouth and Teticket.'
In 1867 it became desirable to establish a high school and a committee was chosen to make arrangements with the trustees of Lawrence Academy, whereby the work is done in that institution. Anew departure was taken in 1883 by a vote instructing the school committee to appoint a superintendent of schools. William E. Curtis was elected, and was soon succeeded by William E. Morang, Charles L. Hunt and William D. Parkinson, in the order named. Under the care of these gentlemen the schools have made rapid progress, the grading has been improved and a uniform course of study and system of promotions adopted. The present grading of the schools is as follows: Falmouth village, high, grammar and primary; Woods Holl, grammar, intermediate and primary; West Falmouth and Waquoit, grammar and primary each. In each of the other districts the entire work below the high school grade is done in one school. The amount of money appropriated for educational purposes in 1889 was $8,550; For common schools, $6,000; tuition of high school scholars, $850; transportation of high school scholars, $500; superintendent's salary, $1,000; superintendent's traveling expenses, $200.
The following is an extract from the first records of the Lawrence Academy; "at a meeting of gentlemen friendly to the erection of a building in Falmouth, suitable for the accommodation of a high school, holden at the Middle District School House, so called in said Falmouth, September 30, 1833. Chase R. S. Wood, Esq., chairman, and Knowles Butler, Sec, voted to chose a committee of three persons to draft the plan of a house, and ascertain the probable expense of the same." The committee consisted of John Jenkins, Harrison Goodspeed and Knowles Butler. These gentlemen attended to their duty, and their report was adopted. It was voted to fix the capital stock at $2,500, divided in one hundred shares of twenty-five dollars each, and to proceed forthwith to erect and finish a school house in accordance with the report of the committee. This building was so far completed, that a meeting of the proprietors was held therein November 15, 1834, at which it was voted to invite Rev. Josiah Bent
to dedicate it, and to allow the free use thereof for a teachers' convention. This building, like the preceding schoolhouse, was for a time rented to the teachers. Miss H. F. Jenkins being the first to rent the upper part.
March 7, 1835, the institution was incorporated as the Falmouth Academy. R. O. Gardner served as principal for the first year; he was succeeded by Isaac Swift, who taught less than one year and was followed by Robert T. Conant. At a meeting of the proprietors held January 17, 1842, it was voted to accept a legacy of ten thousand dollars recently left to the institution by Shubael Lawrence, and to petition the legislature for permission to change the name to Lawrence Academy, and to make other changes as required by the conditions of the will. This petition was granted and the changes were made accordingly. Robert A. Coffin was the first principal after the change, but his term of service is uncertain. He was succeeded by Mr. Stephen C. Dillingham, who was teaching in the academy in 1847. He resigned in 1851, and was followed by Mr. Dodge and George Moore, who taught less than one year each. In 1852George E.Clarke was elected principal, and held the position about eleven years, resigning early in 1863. The remainder of that year was filled by students of Andover Theological Seminary. The next principal was Dr. F. W. Adams, who served two years, and was followed by Rev. Charles Harwood for one year, and Mr. J. W. Cross for two years. In the fall of 1868 Prof. Lucius Hunt was elected, but after one year's service he accepted a position elsewhere and was succeeded by Watron S. Butler of Falmouth, who served one year, after which Professor Hunt was recalled and remained in charge of the school until 1881, when he was succeeded by the present principal, S. A. Holton, who had previously served for three years as assistant to Mr. Hunt in this institution.
In 1884 the building was thoroughly repaired and remodelled within. The antiquated furniture, most of which had been in use since the erection of the building, was removed, and its place supplied by that of modern style, thus fitting the building for the increased requirements of the present time. During the past year the grade of the school has been raised by the addition of one year's work to the course of study.
Cemeteries.—Oak Grove cemetery is situated north of the village and is becoming a chosen spot for the departed. A meeting of those interested was held December 12, 1849, at the town hall, when Erasmus Gould, William Nye, jr., Thomas L. Swift, Silas Jones and Rufus Swift were appointed to choose a site and obtain subscribers to purchase lots. January 2, 1850, the report was made that a wood lot of over five acres had been purchased, adjoining the home of Ephrism
Sanford and twenty-four subscribers procurred. The officers elected for one year, at this meeting, were: Oliver C. Swift, president; Aaron Cornish, vice-president; S. C. Dillingham, secretary; Samuel P. Bourne, treasurer, and E. Gould, William Nye, jr. and C. L. Swift, trustees. A constitution and by-laws were adopted. In 1851 O. C. Swift was re-elected president and held the office for many years, as did S. P. Bourne that of secretary and treasurer. The trustees had the management until March 27, 1877, after which the annual meetings were held and officers elected; Silas Jones, president, and George E. Clarke, secretary and treasurer. These efficient officers have been re-elected until the present, with William Jones vice-president. The present trustees are: William H. Hewins, Moses R. Fish and Charles H. Gifford. At the February meeting of 1886, George E. Clarke, Silas Jones and Solomon D. Robinson were appointed a committee to purchase additional land, and by their action the area has been doubled by tracts purchased.
There are eight other cemeteries in the town; the old proprietors' and the Methodist at Falmouth village; and one each at Woods Holl, West Falmouth, North Falmouth, East Falmouth, Hatchville and Waquoit. In these rest the ashes of those fathers and mothers so venerated by the present residents.
Villages.—There are nine distinct business centers in the town, seven of which have post offices. Varied interests and advantages developed here, Falmouth, the chief village away from the town's geographical center, but it is easy of access from all parts of the town, and has advantages which will continue its growth and permanence. It is the principal village of the southwestern part of the Cape, and occupies a level tract nearly three miles in extent along the north shore of the Vineyard sound. It is pleasantly located with Marthas Vineyard, the sound, and a broad expanse of varied scenery to entrance the vision on the south, the range of hills that skirt the eastern shore of Buzzards bay on the west, and the level, highly-cultivated fields of the town on the north and east, producing a variety of pleasing effects that render it the chosen spot on the Cape for recreation and health. Its early settlement is contemporary with that of the town, as the first who came very naturally selected this as the "Promised Land," of which they were in quest. Clustering together in communities and villages, these early settlers as they advanced embodied in every settlement the four elements—church, school, town house and militia—resulting in an unprecedented progress in everything pertaining to religion, education, government and patriotism. The early population were indirectly from Saugus and Scituate, and directly from Barnstable, Plymouth and Sandwich.
The first entry in the proprietors' records, under date of Novem-
ber 29, 1661, is conclusive that in 1661 the lands of the site of what is now Falmouth village were occupied, and its history in its relation to the white race may be regarded as dating from that year. That Isaac Robinson erected one of the first houses, if not the first, upon the neck between the Fresh and Salt ponds is also established; and in addition Jenkins says: "At the lower end of Fresh pond there was some years ago an old rose bush, the only relic of an ancient garden, which according to tradition belonged to Isaac Robinson." Here occurred the first birth in the village or town, but of the exact date traditions differ; one is that the company arrived from Barnstable in 1660, and the first night after landing between Fresh and Salt ponds, while encamped, the wife of Jonathan Hatch gave birth to a son whom, she said, should be named Moses, because born among the flags; another is that the "family mansion " had been standing fifteen months at the time of the birth; but the fact of this being the first birth remains undisputed.
The general court enacted, in March, 1663, that "it be commended to the settlers at Succonessett to apply themselves in some effectual way for the increase of their numbers, that they may carry on things to their better satisfaction both in civil and religious respects." That the increase was rapid is already shown from the records of the court of July 13, 1681, which ordered that the people and society of Succonesset set apart lands, upland and meadow, " for the help and encouragement of such fit person or persons as doth or may be helpful to them in teaching the good word of God amongst them, and be in perpetuity for such an end successively." This order of the court was acted upon by the people June 6, 1687. The same year the road from Little harbor through Falmouth village to the Five-Mile river was. ordered to be laid out by the proprietors, to be forty feet wide. This is now Main street. According to the town records of 1703, it "was voted to pay John Robinson 2d for nails and Thos. Bassett 4s. for work about the town house." This is the first intimation of the existence of such a building; but had no meeting house been yet erected ? It was the memorable custom of the people of that day to have a town house for schools and meetings, and such a primitive building, no doubt, had been erected. That this town house of 1703 was used as a meeting house also is evident by the vote of October 16,1704, to procure "window shutters for the 4 lower windows of the meeting house." In 1715, "it was voted to build a new meeting house 42 feet square, to stand on the same lot where the old one does and to be for the town's use in public worship and to meet in open town meetings." This first town house, or village hall, in Falmouth was located near the cemetery; in the western part of the village, where subsequently the new meeting house was commenced in 1716, and completed in 1717. The
site for this second building was defined in 1716, as laid out in connection with the burying ground.
The present green, so beautiful in its triangular bounds, was laid out October 6, 1749, and included, on the north side, the strip of land between the present green and a line that extended from the old Shiverick House, next west of the Continental shoe store kept by G. W. Jones, passing in the rear of the present Congregational church, to and in line with the street upon which Mrs. Sarah P. Lawrence dwells. The present common was taken from the north side of this meeting house lot and training ground that had been laid out in common use to all; and the past pages will show that, including the original town house for a meeting house, the present Congregational church is the fourth place of worship on those grounds. The proprietors reserved the present square as part of the old one, when, on October 6, 1749, they "agreed that there should be part of that lot of land called the meeting house lot & training field, about one acre and a half besides the road that leads to Woodshole & bounded Southerly by Samuel Shiverick, and westerly by Silas Hatch Northerly by Nath'l Nickerson & easterly by Paul Hatch & Sam'l Shiverick, to lay perpetually forever to that end, as the fence now stands, except before Paul Hatches house."
As the growth of the village called for its territory, the remainder of the old square has been sold off by the proprietors until the old cemetery only remains.
In the action of the town June 6, 1687, land was voted for the help and encouragement of teaching the word of God, which lands, among others, are west of Bowerman's pond, now included in the village. The importance of this village in the beginning of the present century led, in 1805, to the building at the foot of Shore street of a wharf, which was washed away by the gale of 1815. The present stone wharf was built in 1817. In those days the ferries and water ways of business were of great import; but railroad facilities have turned the tide of shipments, and the tide of the sound has demonstrated to the present generation that even granite monuments are not imperishable. It was the demand for the guns captured by Captain Jenkins at Tarpaulin cove and the refusal, in 1814, that brought the British frigate Nimrod near the foot of Shore street, where anchorage was made and the village bombarded by her guns. The old Congregational church, the large house on Shore street now owned by E. E. C. Swift (then occupied by Captain John Crocker, and thought to be the governor's residence), the residence now occupied by Mrs. Sarah P. Lawrence, the residence now occupied by Charles M. Dimmick, near Hotel Falmouth (then occupied by Ichabod Hatch), and the house
occupied by Mrs. Dillingham, just west of the livery stable of H. C. Lewis, were the buildings most injured by the bombardment.
In 1800 the public building designed for a town hall, a schoolhouse, and a Masonic lodge was offered by the proprietors, and its use was accepted by the Masons, who were wont to assemble in the kitchen of Captain Stephen Swift.
Marine Lodge received a charter in March, 1798, on the petition of Frank Wicks, Hugh Donaldson, Richard Bunker, Joseph Webb, John P. Caswell, Robinson Dimmick, Isaac Parker, Prince Hatch, Davis Swift, Timothy Crocker, jr., James Wing and Lewis Parker. The first meeting of the lodge, March 26, 1798, approved of Silas Jones and Stephen Swift for initiation, and appointed Hugh Donaldson, Frank Wicks and Joseph Webb a committee "to frame a set of by-laws, and to hire a chamber and get it fitted up for the reception of the lodge as soon as possible." May 2,1798, the by-laws were reported and adopted and the following officers elected:—Frank Wicks, W. M.; Hugh Donaldson, S.W.; Richard Bunker, J.W.; Frank Wicks, treasurer; and H. Donaldson, secretary, pro tern; James Wing, tyler. August 18, 1799, Elijah Swift was elected master; and September 7, 1803, Frank Wicks was installed to the office, with Samuel Shiverick, S.W., and Lewis Parker, J.W. In 1804 Frank Wicks was reelected master, and in September, 1805, Major Hatch succeeded him. August, 1806, Joseph Percival was chosen master with Major Hatch in the West, Thacher Lewis in the South, Samuel M. Dewey secretary, and Weston Jenkins, treasurer. The following were successively elected masters: 1808, Francis Wicks; 1809, Timothy Parker; 1820, E. Swift; 1823, Job Parker; 1824, Dr. Aaron Cornish, who held the office continuously to 1831 inclusive. In April, 1806, the lodge voted to paint the hall, get chairs and pay for one half of a bell. During the Morgan excitement this lodge suspended work and surrendered its charter. In the interim a lodge of Odd Fellows was organized, which flourished for a few years. In 1856 a sufficient number of the previous members of Marine Lodge petitioned the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts for the return of the original charter, which was granted and the lodge resumed work. The masters have been elected and served as follows: 1856, G. W. Swift; 1858, George W. Donaldson; 1859, Benjamin F. Tucker; 1861, William Hewins; 1870, Erasmus Gould; 1872, J. C. Robinson; 1874, A. P. Sturgis; 1877, Charles E. Davis; 1879, W. H. Hewins; 1882, Charles E. Davis; 1883, George W. Fish; 1886, Browning Fish; 1887, Prince D. Swift. D. L. Powe is the present secretary. The first lodge building is the one now occupied and owned by the fraternity, the post office store and lodge rooms have been remodeled and modernized.
Associate Lodge, I. O. G.T., was organized March 28, 17, with twenty-two charter members. The first presiding officer was Seba
A. Holton, succeeded by C. S. Newcomb. The chief templars since have successively been: D. R. Jarvis, G. R. Johnson, George E. Clarke, G. R. Johnson and G. A. Merithew.
Among the older industries was a glass works at the foot of Shore street prior to 1850. It was a plant of considerable importance, costing $25,000 or more, with steam engine and proper fixtures. Aaron Cornish, John Jenkins and Stephen Dillingham were interested; the latter removed some of its buildings to West Falmouth for the oilcloth works. Even shipbuilding was at one time a village industry. In 1812, Elijah Swift built a vessel in front of his house—where Stephen Cahoon now resides—and launched it at the foot of Shore street. The vessel was of sixty-five tons burden, and he brought together the same number of yokes of oxen from the surrounding country to haul the vessel to the beach.
The Falmouth Bank was established in 1821. The capital stock of $100,000, represented by a thousand shares, was subscribed by eighty-three persons, of whom the fifty-three who were then residents of Falmouth were: Elijah Swift, Ward M. Parker and Thomas Swift, who took one hundred shares each; Shubael Lawrence, who took forty shares; Nathaniel Shiverick, jr., Weston Jenkins, Oliver C. Swift, Lewis W. Calot, Elisha P. Fearing, Nathaniel Lewis, John Jenkins, Braddock Dimmick, Barney Marchant and William Bodfish, who took from ten to twenty shares each; John Lawrence, Samuel P. Croswell, Peter Price, Knowles Butler, John Hatch, jr., Henry Dimmick, Mayhew Hatch, Major Hatch, Abner Hinckley, John Robinson, Robinson Jones, Shadrack Lawrence, Ephraim Sanford, Prince Jenkins, Ephraim Eldridge, Bariah B. Bourne, Simeon Harding, Charles Swift, Silas Swift, Joseph Swift, John Swift, Davis Hatch, Walla Robinson, Henry Robinson, Joseph Robinson, Rowland Robinson, William Bradley, Silas J. Eldred, Solomon Davis, Parnel Butler, Sarah Lewis, Moses Hatch, Micah Sampson, Thatcher Lewis, Silvanus Hatch, Charles Lawrence, Calvin Robinson, Peter Lawrence and Prince Weeks, who took from one to eight shares each. Ward M. Parker was the last survivor of all the original people connected with this bank. David Crocker & Co., of Barnstable, took five shares, eleven Boston men took one hundred and ninety-five shares, and the remaining one hundred and fifty-one were taken by nineteen other residents of Massachusetts, three of whom were of Sandwich.
The first meeting of stockholders was held April 7, 1821, when Elijah Swift, Thomas Swift, Shubael Lawrence, Braddock Dimmick, Weston Jenkins, Nathaniel Lewis, Elisha P. Fearing, Nathaniel Shiverick, jr., and Samuel P. Croswell were chosen directors. These chose Elijah Swift president and S. P. Croswell cashier. Mr. Swift resigned before his death, which occurred January 9, 1852. In 1843,
October third, the second president, John Jenkins,was elected. He died in 1859, and Oliver C. Swift was the third, until his death in January, 1874; Erasmus Gould was the next president, until his death in 1881, when, on January 12th, Silas Jones, the present head of the bank, was elected. The second cashier was Samuel P. Bourne, from 1843 to 1873. The third, George E. Clarke, was chosen in July, 1873, and was succeeded in May, 1889, by George E. Dean. The bank assumed the character and charter of a national bank May 25, 1865, numbered 1320, and renewed its charter at the expiration of twenty years, in accordance with the laws. It was the first in point of time, and has always been one of the most conservative banks on the Cape. The present directors are Silas Jones, Charles E. Davis, Lewis H. Laurence, Thomas H. Lawrence, William F. Jones, Ward Eldred and Alexander M. Goodspeed.
The influx of travel from the Plymouth colony and the towns of the Cape on the north, as the pioneers sought other settlements in this region and at Marthas Vineyard, early called for places of entertainment. These places have consecutively been designated as ordinary, inn, tavern and hotel. As early as February 7, 1664, Isaac Robinson was "approved and allowed by the Court to keep an Ordinary at Succonesset for the entertainment of strangers—in regard that it doth appear that there is a great recourse to and fro to Marthas Vineyard, Nantucket, etc., and that hee be provided with provisions and Necessaryes for that purpose, likewise he is to keep good order in his House that no damage or just harme befall him by his negligence." Thus it would seem that the Puritan fathers made the entertainment of the stranger a matter of public concern. In 1746 the proprietors adjourned to the inn of John Bourne in the village. At an early date of the present century Samuel Shiverick kept an inn in the house next west of Jones' Continental shoe store; also, about 1800, when the wharfs and business was active at the foot of Shore street, Elisha Gifford, a bachelor, kept a tavern in the last house of the street, on the corner near the wharf, now the summer residence of William B. Bacon. His sign was unique, bearing a ship and a seaview on one side, on the reverse a stage arrival. The packets and stages made his a lively place. The old sign swung on Hotel Falmouth for a time as a legend of the past, but has been consigned to the garret by the improvements of the day. H. C. Lewis, of this village, still preserves, among other momentoes of the time, the signboard that his father, David Lewis, swung in front of the present residence in 1812, when, in the then new house, he opened his tavern, which was continued until about 1850. Prior to this the old building that stood on the vacant lot, the corner west of and adjoining the residence of George W.Jones, was a tavern. It was on the first laid-out public road and conspicuous in its
day, having been built in the past century. The last landlord was Shubael Hatch, familiarly known as "Little Shube " in 1812.
The only hotel here now open all the year is Hotel Falmouth—a well managed house on the modern American plan—which is also fairly patronized by the summer visitors. The building in its older parts is somewhat historic, having been built by Stephen Dillingham, a Quaker merchant, who kept a store in it several years. His brothers, Reuben and Abram, and Jonathan Boyce, a brother-in-law, were interested in the business with him. This firm was succeeded by a Mr. Rogers as assignee, who was followed by John and Knowles Butler. Reuben E. Swift kept this store later and run, as his father Ezekiel had done, a packet from Falmouth to New Bedford. The next merchant at this corner was Benjamin P. Swift, who was succeeded by Albert Nye, then residing in the house he built where Captain John R. Lawrence now lives. The last merchant at this point was Meltiah Lawrence, who sold the property to James W. Baker, and he in 1872 remodeled the building and opened it as Baker's Hotel. When his white stage coach met the passengers at Falmouth station on the first train from Boston in 1872, the date was marked with red in the landlord's calendar. The Hyannis Bank, as mortgagee, controlled it next, with Elihu H. Davis as tenant, and in 1880 Henry C. Lewis became the owner, and changed the name to Hotel Falmouth. The next landlord, Sylvanus F. Dimmick, who purchased it in the spring of 1881, had married Erasmus Gould's daughter, added the east wing and the south annex; but his short career was harrassed by the spectre of six per cent., and whatever title he had was passed to the present proprietor, George W. Fish, in October, 1886.
The old landmark, the Succonesset House, owned by E. E. C. Swift, has recently given place to the new Episcopal church.
The water route along the sound served until the advancement of the town required more direct and immediate connection with the portions of the county north, when a stage route was opened between Sandwich and Falmouth. It was very limited prior to 1828: A triweekly stage carried the mail and did the errands between Sandwich and Woods Holl, touching at intermediate points. The old route at that time was down through the woods to Falmouth. In 1832 William Hewins took the line, driving daily by the way of North and West Falmouth, to Falmouth and Woods Holl, along the bay road; then the eastern part of the town was served by a tri-weekly stage and mail from Falmouth. Mr. Hewins' business increased and continued until the advent of the railroad in 1872. Two daily stages from Waquoit via East Falmouth to Falmouth, now supplies that portion of the town with mail and passenger facilities.
The early mails were received from New Bedford, the vessels
touching at the foot of Shore street and later at Woods Holl, at which time the mail was carried to the Vineyard by sailboat. Old residents well remember Joseph Ray (colored) who carried it by sail to the island in 1824, 1825. The unfortunate carrier preceding him was drowned. The Falmouth post office was established, with Jonathan O. Freeman as postmaster, January 1, 1795. In the following September Joseph Palmer was commissioned and served until April 1, 1809, when James Hinckley took the office to an old building opposite the corner of the square. The building was moved to Oliver Swift's premises and is now doing service as part of Mark Gorey's residence, Charles Stanford was postmaster in the same building nine years, from June 27, 1812, and was succeeded by Richard S. Wood in a building now owned by Sophronia Wood on the Richard Wood estate. May 7, 1832, Samuel P. Croswell had the office in the present bank building. From March 27, 1837, Frederick Davis, for many years a leading merchant here, was this important official; in the building now occupied by Solomon L. Hamlin's store. Obed Goodspeed succeeded Mr. Davis in July, 1849, at the same place. Richard S. Wood was again appointed, June 13,1851. Joshua Jones succeeded Wood prior to 1861, in the Burgess store building. Under President Lincoln's administration, in 1862, Thomas Lawrence was appointed, who was followed by Joseph Burgess and H. F. Robinson in succession. In 1885 E. E. C. Swift was appointed and removed the office to the Masonic building, which is the same re-modeled that was offered the lodge by the selectmen long ago. Mr. Swift was succeeded October 12, 1889, by George W. Jones.
The earliest stores were primitive, keeping the needed merchandise which came in vessels. Late in the past century and early in this, Dea. Braddock Dimmick, Nathaniel Shiverick and Major Hatch had stores—places of as much relative importance then as are the fashionable bazaars of the present. David Lewis opened a store in the wing of his house in 1812, and the snuff jar, with other furniture, is on the shelf as of old, preserved by his son, H. C. Lewis. Silas Jones was a merchant of the time. Charles Bourne built the store on the west corner of Main and Shore streets, prior to 1822. He failed and was succeeded by his kinsman, Silas J. Bourne. Joseph H. Starbuck used it as a tin-shop; a Union Store Company occupied it two years, Meltiah Lawrence, William Lawrence, Frank Bourne, Edward A. Gould and George C. Clark, occupied it. W. C. Davis erected his furniture store here in 1889. E. Packard erected the store where S. L. Hamlin now has a large store and was succeeded, about 1820, by Charles Wilcox and Frederick Davis. Very early also was a store near the square, in the building occupied by S. L. Hamlin; as early as 1815 Weston Jenkins was there, and was succeeded by Charles and John Jenkins, who
were very prosperous. Francis Shiverick and Richard T. Wood succeeded the Jenkins' family in the same place. Joseph Croswell had a store south of the square, which was moved across and below, and was kept, prior to 1848, by Bartlett Holmes, who sold out to open business in the Jenkins store. In 1867 W. H. Hewins commenced in the old Jenkins store, now a branch of S. L. Hamlin's. where Air. Hewins continued seventeen years when, in 1884, he removed to his present fine double store near the Town Hall. Charles McDermott, the contractor, came first to Falmouth in 1871, as foreman on the construction of the Woods Holl railroad. Fie is largely engaged in grading and road building" in and about Falmouth.
Henry F. Gifford has preserved among papers of historical value, a copy of the Nautical Intelligencer, of December 24, 1824, printed here, which contains very interesting references to the business and customs of that time. John Jenkins was a liberal advertiser, deeming it important to notice a fresh supply of "Staple and fancy Dry goods, Hardware & Groceries, which he is selling at very low prices." His dry goods list included "green bookings, figd & plain Bombazetts, Sea Island Shirtings, bl'k Levantines, Synchaws & sarsnets, Taffeta ribons, Silk buttons, Valencia, Swans down & bl'k. Fancy Silk Vestings, Fur trimmings, factory Ginghams & 5/4 bleached sheetings." His hardware list included shaving brushes, iron table and tea spoons, writing paper, quills and ink powder, bed screws and table hinges, door plates and sad irons, iron knitting pins, padlocks and sleigh-bells.
Frederick Davis, one of the leading merchants of the time, advertised still more extensively. His "general assortment of seasonable goods of recent importations, offered at reduced prices," included a detailed list of dry goods, hardware, groceries, glass and crockery ware His store was where Captain S. L. Hamlin's principal store is now located.
Friend .Stephen Dillingham had "just received from New York an additional supply of fall and winter goods, which he offers for sale on very reasonable terms." His list, one-fourth column in fine print, mentions dry goods, hardware and crockery. His grocery list mentions merely molasses, sugars, tobacco, etc. Other advertisers included under groceries, West India and New England rum, cognac, brandy, Holland and American gin, Jamaica and St. Croix rum, Maderia. Lisbon, Mallaga and real Port wines, cordials, coffee and corks, and headache snuff.
The editor of the paper offered cash for cotton and linen rags, and notified his subscribers who were to pay in wood to bring it. He wanted a post-rider to deliver the Intelligencer through North Falmouth, Pocasset, Monument and Sandwich on Friday mornings, and another "to go through Cotuitt Village to Hyannis on the same day." Lewis
W. Calot. as librarian, called a meeting of ' The members of the Falmouth Library Society for special business, on the 7th of January at 6 o'clock P. M."
The post village of Woods Holl is on the south and southwest boundary of the town, extending between Buzzards bay on the west and the waters of the sound on the east. In early days the name terminated with an e, but as the location assumed importance, its friends assisted its good name by adopting the Icelandic "Holl," which is thought to be more in harmony with the characteristics of the village. It has good harbors, known distinctively as Great and Little, securely sheltered, where a haven can be found for vessels of the larger class. Its settlement immediately succeeded that of the northern portion of the town.
The lands in the vicinity of Woods Holl being taken up July 28, 1677, were divided into lots of sixty acres upland to a share, with meadows; this had been secured from the natives, and was in extent from Great and Little harbors along the coast to Five-Mile river, and probably north to Quisset. The lots were commenced at the south end of the Little neck, running- northwesterly to Great harbor; parallel to these, twelve other lots were laid out, each seven rods in width, and assigned to Moses Rowley, sr., Joseph Hull, Thomas Griffin, John Robinson, Samuel Tilley, Nathaniel Skiff, Thomas Johnson, William Gifford, Thomas Lewis, John Jenkins, Jonathan Hatch, sr., William Weeks and Thomas Ewer. Each also took ten acres in Great neck. The records describe these lots as follows: ''The first lies in the neck,—being on the foot-path that runs through the neck, and S. E. toward the sound; then three lots lying contiguous: then six lots on the E. side of Little Harbor,—the first runs E. by N.. 4 score long and 20 rods broad, and on that range lies six lots, the last joining to the Dutchman's pond; then three lots at Nobsque Point,—26 rods broad, running to the pond, and also to the sea; the 12th lot being 20 rods broad and 4 score long; the 13th lies beyond Ackapasket and butts on the sea."
An Indian deed, bearing date January 15, 1679, signed by Job Notantico, confirms to these early proprietors of Woods Holl the land title. A blacksmith was greatly needed at this time, and the proprietors "laid out twelve acres of upland with the marsh thereabouts." and appropriated it to encourage a smith to settle among them—an inducement which, no doubt, was the means of bringing the desired result.
The first public road of the town was laid out in this little village from Little harbor to Thomas Johnson's land, to Joseph Hatch's land, and so on through to Five-Mile creek.
The first important impulse toward developing a village here was derived from the salt industry. Salt was made on the east of Little
harbor, where the Episcopal church now stands, on the north end of the harbor and in the northwest angle of Alain and School streets, extending as far north as the present school house. The store-house for the salt was on the site of Benjamin J. Edwards' present residence.. Other evaporating vats are remembered on the west side of Little harbor and on the hill by the Dexter house. The names of Ward M. Parker, John Parker, Ephraim Eldridge and Jabez Davis are associated with this industry.
Woods Holl attained to some prominence as a shipbuilding and whaling station early in the century. Elijah Swift, who had formerly built pine whalers at Wareham, began in 1828 his career at Woods Holl. Solomon Lawrence, father of Captain John R. Lawrence, was the master builder. Of all the men employed in building and equipping these vessels, only Christopher G. Bearse and Sanford Herendeen survive. The last ship built here was the Elijah Swift, a merchantman. Among the smaller craft, of more recent date, were two merchant schooners built for Joseph S. Fay, and the fishing vessel Aurelia, built by Thomas Robinson and Jabez Davis for Harwich parties.
The brig Sarah Merrick, sailing June 17, 1820, was the first whale vessel from Falmouth. Her voyage in the Atlantic was for one year. She returned laden with three hundred barrels of sperm.
In December, 1821, the ship Pocahontas, of 350 tons, which was built that year at Falmouth, began a voyage of thirty-three months under Captain Frederick Chase, and brought home two thousand barrels of sperm oil. The next year, 1821, the schooner Salome sailed, and in 1825 the Pocahantas sailed in May for the Pacific, and in 1827 returned with 2,100 barrels sperm. Her next voyage, until October, 1830, was under Captain Charles Swift, in the Pacific, from which she brought in 1,700 barrels sperm.
The ship Uncas, 400 tons, was built at Woods Holl in 1828, and sailed under Captain Henry C. Bunker, November 17th, for the Pacific, returning July 15, 1831, with 3,468 barrels sperm. Her next voyage under the same captain was four years, yielding 2,900 barrels sperm.
The Awashonks was built at Woods Holl in 1830—a ship of 355 tons —and sailed for the Pacific, November 6th, under Captain Obed Swain, arriving home three years later, with 2,000 barrels sperm.
The bark Brunette, 200 tons, Captain Cottle, sailed in January, and in May, 1834, reached home with 800 barrels sperm.
Captain Joseph Swift sailed with the Pocahontas to the Pacific in 1831, returning April 23, 1835, with 1,700 barrels sperm.
In 1832 the Bartholomew Gosnold, 360 tons, was built at Woods Holl and sailed November 29th, Captain John C. Daggett, and in August, 1836, brought home 2,200 barrels sperm.
The Awashonks sailed again December 28, 1833, under Captain Prince Coffin to the Pacific, where he with his first and second mate and four men were killed in October, 1835, by the natives of Namarik. The vessel was brought home by the acting captain, Silas Jones.
In January, 1833, the ship William Penn, 370 tons,built the previous-year at Hog Island harbor in West Falmouth, sailed for the Pacific,under Captain John C. Lincoln, and arrived home April 29, 1836, with 1,200 barrels sperm. Her first mate and the crews of two boats were captured by the natives of one of the Navigator islands.
In November, 1834, the bark Brunette, Captain Fisher, returned from a short voyage of six months with 60 barrels of sperm, and sailed-again the following May under Captain Cottle, arriving home February 25, 1837, with 700 barrels sperm.
In 1833 the bark George Washington, 180 tons, was bought from New York, and under Captain Consider Fisher sailed for the South Atlantic on November 24th, returning two years from the following; April, with 60 barrels sperm and 400 barrels of whale oil.
October 31, 1835, the ship Pocahontas, under Captain Joseph Swift, returned to the Pacific, arriving home with 1,200 barrels of sperm in January, 1838, after which she was sold to Holmes Hole.
Under Captain Uriah Clarke, the ship Uncas sailed for the Pacific-ocean August 2. 1835, arriving home with 1,800 barrels sperm and 1,000 barrels whale on April 9, 1839.
In 1836 the bark Popmunnett was built, 200 tons, and sailed for the Atlantic July sixth, under Captain Stanton Fish, arriving home with her captain sick and 90 barrels of sperm, November 29th.
Captain Rufus Pease, in charge of the ship Awashonks, sailed for the Pacific August 22, 1836. January 24, 1840, she arrived home with 2,500 barrels sperm.
October 8, 1836, the ship William Penn sailed for the Pacific, Captain Russell Bodfish in charge, reaching home May 28, 1841, with 1,300 barrels sperm and 370 barrels of whale oil.
In October, 1836, the ship Hobomok, Captain Henry C. Bunker, sailed for the Pacific, returning home after three years with 2,000 barrels of sperm and 1,000 barrels of whale.
Captain Elihu Fish sailed with the ship Bartholomew Gosnold for the Pacific November 17, 1836, returning home September 19, 1839, with-700 barrels sperm and 1,900 barrels whale oil.
The bark Brunette sailed for the Atlantic in May, 1837, arriving home in one year with 400 barrels of sperm, Captain Poole having her in charge.
In April, 1838, the bark George Washington, under Captain Consider Fisher, arrived home with 80 barrels sperm and 300 barrels whale,, having sailed for the Atlantic the previous year.
Captain Nickerson sailed with the bark Popmunnett for the Atlantic January 13, 1837, arriving home the following year with 300 barrels sperm oil.
Captain Poole, with the bark Brunette, sailed on July 12. 1838. for the Atlantic ocean, arriving home with 400 barrels of sperm on December 11, 1839.
In June, 1838, the bark George Washington, under Captain Whitehouse, sailed for the Atlantic, returning in March, 1840, with 200 barrels of sperm.
In August, 1839, the ship Uncas, Captain Ephraim Eldridge, sailed for the Pacific, returning home at the end of four years with 2,200 barrels sperm, 300 barrels whale, and 2,400 pounds of bone. She was sold to New London in 1843.
In July, 1840, Captain Rufus Pease, in charge of the ship Awashonks, sailed for the Pacific, reaching home in 1843 with 1,800 barrels sperm.
Captain Luce, with the bark Brunette, sailed August 11, 1840, for the Atlantic, arriving home in May, 1842, with 300 barrels sperm and 20 barrels whale oil, after which she was sold to Colonel Colt, the revolver manufacturer, and taken to Washington, where she was blown to atoms with a torpedo of Colonel Colt's invention.
January 1, 1840, the ship Bartholomew Gosnold, Captain Abraham Russell, sailed for the Pacific, arriving home in 1843 with 1.800 barrels of sperm and 600 barrels whale oil. She was then sold to New Bedford.
In 1840 the bark George Washington, under Captain Samuel Eldridge, sailed for the Atlantic. After two months' absence she returned clean and leaking, and was sold to New Bedford.
The ship Hobomok started on her third voyage May 29, 1840, for the Pacific, Captain Silas Jones, arriving home March 14, 1844, with 2,200 barrels sperm oil. In October, 1841, the ship William Penn sailed for the Pacific, with John C. Lincoln as captain, and arrived home four years later, with 1,300 barrels sperm, 100 barrels whale oil and 2,200 pounds bone.
November 30,1841, Captain Charles Downs, sailed the ship Commodore Morris, 350 tons, for the Pacific ocean, and arrived home in May, 1845, with 1,450 barrels sperm oil and 40 barrels whale oil.
The ship Awashonks started on her fifth voyage June 7, 1844, Captain Ephraim Eldridge, sailing for the South Seas, and returning after four years with 1,400 barrels sperm, 1,100 barrels whale oil and 10,000 pounds bone.
Captain Rowland R. Jones, in June, 1844, sailed the ship Hobomok for the Pacific, and arrived home in April, 1848, with 1,000 barrels each, of sperm and whale oil.
The schooner Harriet sailed, under Captain Gifford, May 10, 1844, for the Atlantic, and returned one year later with 50 barrels sperm.
Captain Silas Jones sailed the ship Commodore Morris, July 9, 1845, for the Pacific ocean, sent home 90 barrels sperm oil in 1845, and returned in 1849, April 1st, with 2,450 barrels sperm and 100 barrels whale oil. The third mate, E. Chadwick, and his boat's crew were capsized and lost on the coast of Chili, in 1846.
July 19, 1845, Captain Wimpenny sailed the ship William Penn for the Indian ocean and Northwest coast. She sent home 9,798 pounds bone, and was totally lost on the island of Whytootacke, November 26,1847. She had on board 100 barrels sperm and 1,700 barrels whale; 1,200 barrels were saved and sold for fifty cents a barrel.
The ship Hobomok sailed for Indian and Pacific oceans August 12, 184S, under Captain Rowland R. Jones, and arrived home five years later with 669 barrels sperm, 604 barrels "whale oil and 7,400 pounds bone. Captain Jones died in 1850.
Captain Smith sailed in the ship Awashonks October 25,1848, for the Pacific, and returned April 5, 1851, with 2,600 barrels whale oil. He sent home 14,300 pounds bone. The second mate, Mr. Slater, was lost overboard in August, 1849.
Captain Lewis H. Lawrence sailed August 13th for the Pacific, in the ship Commodore Morris, and returned after four years with l,860 barrels sperm oil.
In 1851, August 12th, Captain Lawrence sailed in the ship Awashonks, for the North Pacific ocean, and arrived home July 25, 1854, with 513 barrels sperm and 1,828 barrels whale oil. He sent home 243 barrels whale oil on the voyage. Mr. Jones, the first mate, was killed by a whale in 1843.
Captain Childs sailed in the ship Hobomok September 30, 1853, for the North Pacific ocean, and returned three years later with 307 barrels sperm, 2,477 barrels whale oil and 18,400 pounds bone. He sent home 4,700 pounds bone.
The ship Commodore Morris sailed December 7, 1853, under Lewis H. Lawrence, for the Pacific, and arrived home October 17, 1856, with 1,008 barrels sperm oil.
In November, 1854, the bark Awashonks sailed under Captain Tobey for the North Pacific ocean, and returned after four years with 1,227 barrels sperm oil. She was sold to New Bedford in 1860. Captain Marchant sailed in the ship Hobomok for the Pacific, in November, 1856. She returned in March, 1860, with 30 barrels sperm, 1,572 barrels whale and 10,500 pounds bone. She sent home on the voyage 74 barrels sperm, 491 barrels whale and 17,859 pounds bone. She was sold in 1860 to New Bedford, and from thence to New York in 1863, where her name was changed to Live Oak. She afterward sailed under the British flag and was finally lost.
670The Commodore Morris started on her fourth voyage July 13. 1859, for the Pacific, under Captain Silas Jones, and arrived home June 19, 1864, with 931 barrels sperm, 232 barrels whale oil and 1,700 pounds bone. She was sold to New Bedford in 1864, and this was supposed to be the closing up of the whale fishery from Falmouth.
Among the agents who were engaged in the whaling business of Falmouth were: Elijah Swift, Ward M. Parker, Stephen Dillingham, Sanford Herendeen, John Robinson, Oliver C. Swift, Obed Goodspeed and Thomas Swift. From 1820 to 1850 we find the name of Elijah Swift quite conspicuous. He was interested also in an oil refinery and sperm candle factory here during a portion, if not all of this period. The building for refining and storing the oil and candles is still standing.
One of the industries that helped to advance the growth of Woods Holl was that of the Pacific Guano Company, organized in 1859 by large shipping merchants of Boston and New York. Howland's island in the Pacific was owned by the company, and from it large deposits of crude guano were shipped. The business grew rapidly in favor, and in 1863 extensive works and chemical laboratories were erected at Woods Holl. A large number of men were employed for years in the various departments of the works.
Isaiah Spindle, of this village, was born in Dennis, where he first engaged in the fishing business. In 1863 he removed to Woods Holl, in the same business, and eleven years later, with A. F. Crowell formed the well-known firm of Isaiah Spindle & Co.. carrying on here and through their Boston office a very large business in trapping and marketing fish. Besides handling the products of their own weirs, they also handle the catch of several others.
Of inns or taverns no definite history for the last century can be unearthed. Early in this century we find the Eagle Hotel, kept by Joseph Parker, who was succeeded by Edmund Davis. On the 24th of October, 1824, Mr. Davis notified the public of his intention to continue "the stand, pledges himself that nothing on his part shall be wanting to give general satisfaction, and solicits a portion of publick patronage." He was succeeded by Joseph Hatch for several years, and in 1840 John Webster was the landlord. The hotel was then near the present site of Eliel T. Fish's store, and about thirty years ago was burned A gentleman named Blossom was "mine host " when the hotel burned. The hotel then was on the bank west of Little harbor, kept by Mr. Miller, which was also burned a few years ago. The Dexter House, now kept by Henry M. Dexter, was, until 1853, the residence of his father. Captain Leonard S. Dexter, who built it for a private residence. The captain's widow, Sarah C. kept it as a
boarding house for several years, enlarging it soon after the fire above mentioned. Having become somewhat known as a summer hotel, although it is open during the year, it was further enlarged and rearranged as now in 1885.
The lumber business, for building ships and dwellings, had been extensive, but no yard for its sale had been opened until 1882, when J. K. & B. Sears & Co. opened one from, their yard at Hyannis. They were succeeded in 1884 by Sears, Swift & Co., and in 1889 J. K. Sears assumed the entire half interest, forming the firm of Sears & Swift. The government fish commission, signal service station, and lighthouse and buoy depot add much to the importance of Woods Holl. Their respective buildings, necessary steamers, lighters, buoys, etc., swell the business of the harbor and village. In 1871 Spencer F. Baird, secretary of the Smithsonian Institute, conducted summer investigations in ichthyology at Little harbor, where the buoy depot is. Ten years later Woods Holl was made a station of the United States fish commission. Headquarters were built in 1884, consisting of museums, hatcheries and experiment rooms.
In 1888 a large building was erected to be used during the summer seasons as a Biological Institute. Students will be entertained and taught by able professors and scientists. The building was completed in the spring of 1889.
Liberty Hall was built in 1878. The Congregational society used it for religious meetings until 1889, when a church was completed for their use. Prior to the building of the hall the Methodist and Congregational societies worshipped together in the People's church, now the property of the Methodist Episcopal Society.
As early as 1823 Ward M. Parker had the mail brought from Falmouth for himself and others, and January 13, 1826, an office was established and he was appointed postmaster. He was succeeded, August 16, 1838, by John C. Parker, and he, in April, 1847, by William Swift, and in July following by Sylvester Bourne. The office was kept in the hotel until it was burned, when Owen Eldridge was appointed. Mr. Eldridge kept the office in the store on the west bank of Little harbor, where it was for several years, and where E. D. Bassett's store is. until the death of Mr. Eldridge in 1885. when Eliel T. Fish was appointed, and the office was removed to the building near the railroad bridge, whence in May, 1889, it was changed to E. D. Bassett's store at his appointment.
No doubt the Pacific Guano Company was largely instrumental in inducing the Old Colony to extend their railroad to Woods Holl, which was done in 1872. The first station agent for the company was Jotham Howes, who was succeeded by H. Whiting. Levi A. Howes was appointed at the death of Mr. Whiting in 1880. and is the present
agent. He was born in South Dennis in 1845, was ag-ent of the South Dennis depot from 1875 to 1880, and in December of that year he became agent at Woods Holl depot, a position which he still occupies. His wife is a daughter of James S. Howes, of Dennis.
Owen Eldridge and Jabez Davis composed a firm of thirty years standing in mercantile life here and were succeeded by E. D. Bassett.
Succonesset Dodge, Knights of Honor, was organized here April 23, 1879, with fourteen charter members. The dictators have been, successively: Sylvester Bourne. Alfred H. Look, W. O. Luscombe, C. W. Davis, James T. Walker, S. M. Norton, J. K. P. Prudum, C. O. Hamblin, S. C. Braley and L. C. Chase. Within the decade the membership of the lodge has increased to forty-four.
West Falmouth post village is pleasantly situated on the main shore road running north from Falmouth village. Among the first settlers of this part of the town were William Gifford, sr., William Gifford, jr., and William and John Weeks. The lands were laid out to them in 1678. Five years before this William Gifford of Sandwich, came here and bought forty acres where Arnold Gifford now lives. The deed now in possession of Arnold Gifford's family is elated July 24, 1673. It was witnessed by Thomas Huckins and Barnabas Lothrop, and acknowledged before Thomas Hinckley. The grantor signed the deed Job attukoo, although in the body of the deed the name is written Job Natantaco. The deed recites that Job had received half of this land from his brother James, who with him received it from their father Thomas Natantaco.
Nearly all of the early families here were Quakers and the plain, peaceful characteristics have been transmitted in a general way to the present generation. Their early coming has been mentioned at page 185 et seq. The village is in the midst of a rural community extending along the shore of Buzzards bay, including some of the most pleasant farm homes of the town.
Agriculture was the first industrial resource, but it was at onetime almost entirely superseded by salt-making, which became important and profitable. Nearly all the people were interested in its manufacture. Daniel Bowerman, William and Theophilus Gifford, Ephraim Sanford. Marcus and George W. Wicks, Adrian Davis, Joseph and Stephen Dillingham, Elijah, Seth, Daniel, Joseph, Silas and Moses Swift, James and Silas Gifford, Benjamin Crowell, Walter Davis and Zebulon Bowman, in their time, were conspicuous in the manufacture of salt. The last works were operated by Nathaniel Eldred, a retired sea captain, who sold his plant to S. F. Swift, who discontinued in 1871.
The early families here depended upon the water mill at East End for their grinding until 1787, when Jesse Gifford built for Samuel
Bowerman, Joseph Bowerman and Richard Lake, the wind mill still doing business in its second century. Barnabas Hamblin and his son Sylvanus, were among the earliest millers. The ownership of the mill passed from Joseph Bowerman to his sons, Seth and Thomas, and Thomas tended it till 1810. By that time Silas Swift's grandfather had come into possession of Thomas' share, and Silas Swift's father. Moses Swift, had bought Seth's share. Thomas Bowerman sold his farm to Captain Nathaniel Eldred: the other brother sold his, and the two hitched up their oxen, put their families and household goods into the carts, and started for York state to settle. Silas F. Swift, by inheritance and purchase, is the sole owner, and now operates the mill.
West of this old landmark, in Nashuanna street, is the site of an old Indian burial place, north of William H. Rowland's residence. South of this, on the shore, is the site where the oil-cloth factory of Stephen Dillingham & Co. was burned in 1856.
The first post office was established December 21, 1827, with Stephen Dillingham as postmaster, until his decease in 1871, except four years of Buchanan's administration, when Silas J. Eldred was the occupant. Gilbert R. Boyce had the office from Mr. Dillingham's death until the appointment in 1882, of James E. Gifford. This Stephen Dillingham kept the office in a store at his father's house, which was probably the first store in West Falmouth. Other merchants were Newel Hoxie, Gilbert R. Boyce and James T. Dillingham. Captain Caleb O. Hamblin built the store north of his residence, and with E. Frank Bemis carried it on a short time prior to 1887. The present merchant is James E. Gifford, who has continuously carried on the business for twenty-five years.
The Joseph Bowerman who owned the mill also owned then a tannery which stood east of the small pond across the highway from S. F. Swift's residence.
Chapoquit or Hog Island harbor here was found available for shipbuilding about 1800. The William Gifford, built here, was captured by the British and burned in 1812. She had been engaged in West India trade under Captain Charles Swift. The William Penn was built, probably, before the William Gifford, and, after several voyages, was lost on the coast of Chili. The Phœnix was built in 1815, by Abner Hinckley. The Magnet, built by Hinckley. Silas Swift, captain, was engaged in the salt trade to New York and Albany. The schooner Swift, Captain Silas Swift, was in foreign trade; also the brig Marseilles. The Oneco, Captain Nickerson, was in the foreign trade. The Meteor and the three last named above were built by Solomon Lawrence: he also built the West Falmouth, a coasting schooner under Captain Stephen Dillingham. The Cicero was commanded by Nymphus Wicks, father of John O. Wicks. The sloop Pinion, Captain Joseph
Small, was also built here. The stone building near the West Falmouth school house was the shop where the iron fittings for these vessels were made.
The only manufactory here is the tag factory of James A. Boyce. The business was commenced about 1859, by Mrs. Gilbert R. Boyce. The present proprietor was her partner several years before the business came into his hands in 1887. All the stringing of tags done on Cape Cod, Martha's Vineyard and as far north as Wareham for Dennison & Co., is managed at this factory. The pay-rolls have averaged twelve thousand dollars per year for the girls engaged in tying.
East of the village is Observatory hill, owned by Franklin King, of Boston; and Forest hill, where Thompson's brick kiln is. Here, in 1880, he first made scouring brick. A large deposit of material renders this enterprise susceptible of further development. When the Old Colony depot was opened here in 1872, Captain Silas Eldred was the agent, and was succeeded in January, 1876, by the present agent, S. F. Swift.
Waquoit is a small post village in the extreme east part of the town, at the head of Waquoit bay. The eastern portion was formerly a part of Mashpee, but the value of the mill privilege on the Moonekis river was one of the reasons for so changing the boundary as to include the stream in Falmouth. On this stream Zenas Ewer built and owned an early saw and grist mill, which was burned. Later, Esquire John Robinson was interested in a mill for several years; the dam furnishing power for his grist mill and for a yarn and cloth mill operated by Alexander Clarke. Here is the present grist mill, owned by Parker N. Bodfish, of Wareham, who has had an interest in it since 1855. He has been the sole proprietor for the past eight years. In December, 1824, Mr. Clarke advertised that after January, 1825, he would be ready to receive ''from the inhabitants of Falmouth and the towns adjoining their commands for Carding Wool & Dressing Cloth, in an establishment situated on the Grist and Saw Mill Dam at the head of Wawquawetts Bay." Before this, Mr. Clarke had one of his carding mills on the Childs river, at Waquoit, where the Waquoit Company shop is.
In 1855 Dea. Alexander Crocker and three others established a carriage manufactory and house building business on the Childs river, tinder the title of "Waquoit Company." Three years later Josiah S. Burgess purchased a half interest, and with Deacon Crocker, was the owner till 1878, when Crocker took the wood-working part and Burgess the iron.
Lewis Baker, who ran a packet line from Waquoit to New Bedford for about thirty years prior to 1882. has been a merchant here since 1840. His brother, Newell E., was his clerk ten years prior to 1871,
when he began his present dry goods business. Among the earlier merchants was Asa Phinney, in the old Phinney residence, where he dwelt. Captain David Pierce was another of the old merchants. His store was where Crocker H. Bearse resides. After the death of Captain Pierce, Union Hall was built for a post office and club-room, by subscription. The other public buildings are the Congregational church and the school house.
A post office was established here the tenth of September, 1849. with Francis M. Boggs, postmaster, he being a retired gentleman who came to this village summers. He was succeeded, January 9, 1850, by Asa Phinney, who kept the office in the old home of his father. Crocker H. Bearse was appointed June 22, 1860, and he kept the office at his residence until Edward J. Crowell was appointed, October 5, 1887. Mr. Crowell keeps the office in the same room that was occupied as the post office by Asa Phinney. The mail is supplied twice each day by the coach route from Falmouth depot.
A good hotel, open all the year, has been kept here since 1874, with Asa P. Tobey, proprietor.
The Popmunnett, a whaler, was built at Waquoit about 1838, by Abner Hinckley, for its several owners.
Hatchville is separated from the adjacent districts of the town by a border of uncultivated lands. It was known to the earlier residents of the western half of the town by the then appropriate name "East End "—a title not yet wholly obsolete in the colloquial nomenclature of the people. That name in a way somewhat vague was applied until later to the whole northeastern portion of Falmouth, and as late as 1821, when the Congregational church here was incorporated, the geographical part of the name was adhered to and the church was styled the East Falmouth Congregational church, while the older people of the present time refer to it as the "East End" church.
This community was supplied by mail for several years from East Falmouth before a government office was located here. Esquire John Robinson, who worshipped here, was the postmaster at East Falmouth, and at the church on Sabbath days the country folk received their mail and thus had virtually a Sunday carrier's delivery.
On the 30th of September, 1858, a post office was opened here, with Silas Hatch as postmaster. The Hatch family had been for years, and still is, one of the leading families in this part of Falmouth, and in proper recognition of the fact the name Hatchville was applied to the office and has since come to be accepted as the distinctive name of the place and the community.
The hamlet is contemporary with the "New Purchase" in its settlement, and the herring war has been the only cause of dissension in that neighborhood. In 1806 some desired a free passage for fish
into Coonemosset pond, but mill privileges interposed. The feeling arose to that pitch that a cannon was placed in position by the herring party, which, in firing, bursted, killing the gunner, producing a cessation of the feeling. The name of this martyr is not handed down.
Ashumet, a neighborhood northeast of Hatchville, was at one time well settled, but now consists of less than a half dozen dwellings.
North Falmouth is a rural post village in the northwest corner of Falmouth, where the boulder ridge diverges northeasterly from the east shore of Buzzards bay. It has long been known as the Nye Neighborhood. Freeman says that the first grant of land was two hundred acres or less to John and Ebenezer Nye in 1689; but the late Joshua Nye left a careful record of his ancestors' title here from 1655, when Elizabeth Ellis deeded a considerable tract to John and Ebenezer, sons of Ebenezer Nye, which title, he says, was afterward confirmed by the colonial government. From Barber's Historical Collection it appears that Benjamin Noye (Nye) was among some fifty or sixty emigrant families from Europe to Saugus, Mass.. in 1636; and later was one of those who removed to Sandwich and became a progenitor of the branch of the family here. Probably the first house built here was by Ebenezer Nye. on what is known as "Wicker Tree Field." An Indian burial place was on a hill by Flax pond, one-fourth mile west of the present residence of Francis A. Nye.
Rural pursuits have been the principal resource of the people, although several of the largest estates here now have come directly or indirectly from the sea. At one time Warren Nye, and his brothers, Prince, Benjamin, John and Ebenezer, were interested in salt works near the cranberry bog of Hiram E. Small. There were other places where salt was manufactured, farther north, near the old wharf, generally known as "Stephen Nye's Wharf." Those engaged were the brothers Stephen, James, Samuel and Francis Nye.
About 1812 Ebenezer Nye, at his own expense, opened a place here to receive and distribute mail, which he transmitted once a week, and received a fee from the people accommodated. Their mail was addressed Falmouth. On the 30th of January, 1817, the post office was established, with him as postmaster. He was followed in office thirty one years later by Ferdinand G. Nye, the present incumbent. F. G. Nye, who has been in business here since 1840, has now the only store in the place. He was born in 1816. His father, Warren, was a son of John and grandson of Benjamin Nye.
Megansett Hall, recently built by private subscription, at a cost of $2,500, furnishes a suitable place for public gatherings. The other public buildings are the Congregational church and a neat school building.
Quissett is a name applied to the harbor and its vicinity, which
originally bore the appellation of Quamquissett, situated one mile north of Woods Holl on Buzzards bay. In 1691 Moses Rowley took lands and settled here. Pie was the third deputy from Falmouth to the colonial legislature. Most of the early residents were engaged in marine pursuits, and before any vessels were built at Woods Holl shipbuilding was an important industry here. Barney Marchant was a substantial man of the period, and later. Among the vessels built here were the brigs Victory and Enterprise, the bark Union, and the sloop Susannah.
Salt was made here by Barney Marchant, Francis Davis, Dea. Thomas Fish. Prince Jenkins, Braddock Gifford, Lemuel Eldred, Samuel Hammond, and others. The vessels built here were launched south of Joseph C. Fish's, where the stone wharf is. Deacon Jenkins was a ship carpenter here. Braddock Gifford's house, an old-fashioned farm building with shed roof nearly to the ground, stood where, in 1830. he built the present residence of Thomas Fish. Mr. Gifford was blacksmith to the shipbuilders, and when the business was removed to Woods Holl he continued it there, where he built, in 1833, the third house on Bar neck. Dea. Thomas Fish was a prominent factor in the progress of Quissett. The Quissett Harbor House, which George W. Fish has, since 1880, made a popular summer hotel, is the property of Stephen W. Carey, of New York. A part of the house is the former residence of Deacon Jenkins, and a part was the house of Isaiah Hammond. Before they were united Prince Jenkins and his wife—daughter of Dea. Thomas Fish—entertained summer guests twenty-five years ago. The house, now leased by Mr. Fish, has accommodations for seventy-five guests. The location is considered the most desirable in this vicinity.
In 1879, February tenth, a post office was established here, with George W. Fish as postmaster. He was then a grocer, but in February, 1886, he was succeeded by Myron C. Johnson, who has since been his deputy,
Quissett had at one time the largest school of the town, except that in Falmouth village; but its relative importance, except as a summer resort, has declined.
Between Falmouth village and Waquoit, on the post road, are the two small hamlets, Teticket and East Falmouth. The latter is a post village containing a Methodist Episcopal church and one store. The first postmaster was John Robinson, who was succeeded after his death, January 3, 1855, by his son, John H. Robinson, who kept the office in his store. The next was Ephraim Crocker, who removed the office to the Union store, where it has since been kept. His successors have been Joshua W. Davis, Leander Baker and H. L. Davis.
At East Falmouth a circulating library was established in February, 1877, by Mrs. C. M. Baker, at her residence. Each of these hamlets has a public school, and at Teticket is a hardware and tin-shop.