Tyngsborough Massachusetts, 1890
Tyngsborough is a fine old town in the northerly part of Middlesex County, 33 miles northwest of Boston, and 8 from Lowell, and has a population of 604. Dracut bounds it on the east; Chelmsford and Westford on the south; Groton on the west, and Dunstable on the northwest and west; and Pelham and Nashua, in N.H., on the north. A broad prong of about one-fourth the width of the town, and as long as the main portion, extends southwesterly.
The assessed area is 9,847 acres. The forests embrace 3,906 acres. The noble Merrimack flows northeast through the midst of the main portion of the town, making a digression westward in a symmetrical curve in passing the central village. It is crossed by a carriage bridge at this point. The Nashua and Lowell Branch of the Boston and Maine Railroad skirts the river, having a station here. The view from the railroad in approaching from Lowell embraces a long sweep of the river, handsome residences, churches and other buildings embowered among noble elms, maple and other trees, with the wooded banks and the beautiful hills beyond, and is very picturesque and charming. The town is diversified by several handsome eminences. From Scribner's Hill in the southwest flows Bridge-meadow Brook northeasterly into the Merrimack. In the northeast is Tyng's Pond, a fine, broad sheet of water, which sends two small but useful tributaries to the river. An extended area and a small village on the south of this pond are called "Willow Dale," and well deserve the romantic name. The pond is much frequented in the summer by people from Lowell and other places.
The soil of this town is rather light and sandy. The product of the 80 farms in 1885 was $82,764. There are some quarries here .from which good building granite is obtained. One or more saw mills and box mills, employing 14 men, are the largest establishments. Other manufactures were brushes, metallic articles and food preparations; the value of the total product being $24,075. The number of legal voters was 177, and of dwelling-houses, 138. The valuation in 1888 was $358,217, with a tax-rate of $10.50 on $1,000. The eight public school-houses are valued at upwards of $4,000. There is a public library of about 3,000 volumes. The churches are Congregationalist, Unitarian and Universalist,— one of each. Tyngsborough (centre) is the post-office and railroad station.
[Merrimack River, showing the residences of Dr. Dutton, Nath. and Wm. Brinley.]
The first white settler of this pleasant valley was an Englishman named Cromwell; and, at the time, his house was the only one between Woburn and Canada. In trading with the Indians he weighed their furs and peltries with his foot. They finally discovered that he was cheating them; and in excusable retaliation they burned his hut and drove him from the place. Many years ago a sum of money was found in a field near by, which is supposed to have belonged to the fugitive. This town was taken from Dunstable and established as a district, June 22,1789. It was incorporated as a town February 23,1809. It was named in honor of Mrs. Sarah (Tyng) Winslow. The first minister was the Rev. Samuel Lawrence, settled in 1790. John S. Sleeper, Esq., editor of the "Boston Journal" from 1834 to 1854, was born here in 1794.
pp. 646-647 in Nason and Varney's Massachusetts Gazetteer, 1890